Journal logo

Why did I choose Computer Engineering as a Degree?

Here is why;

By Enes GeziciPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello, in this story I will tell you why I chose computer engineering.

First of all; let's start by;

What is Computer Engineering?

Computer Engineering is the study of programming and computing. A degree in computer engineering gives you the foundational skills needed to pursue a career in coding or computer programming. It gives you a good understanding of the theory behind the processes involved in creating computer programs and applications.

How Do I Choose Between Computer Science And Engineering?

A computer scientist’s primary focus is on troubleshooting software problems. You will learn different programming languages, how to work with operating systems, and how to maintain databases while doing so. A computer engineer’s job is to solve problems and design interfaces for hardware and software.

Why Do I Choose Engineering?

By studying engineering, you will “train” your brain to think logically and solve problems by exercising your brain. You will gain these skills throughout your life – not only when you are working on engineering projects. It is by no means a profession that is passive.

Should I Choose Engineering Or Computer Science?

Graduates of computer engineering have the necessary skills to land jobs in this field if they are interested in developing software. If you’re looking at the comparison between computer science and engineering, then computer science is better. If you want to land a job as a programmer, you should probably have a degree in computer engineering.

First of all, as an 18-year-old; Deciding what to do in the next 45 years is a really difficult decision. As someone who loves to play games (especially action) all my life, I chose games as my field of interest. In my last year of high school, when I researched what I could do based on games, I realized that computer engineering was the right decision for me. I thought it would be an incredible feeling to be able to make a game, to bring a game I made to life. At the end of the first year, “I wonder if I’m in the right place?” I thought too, but computer engineering, like almost all engineering; It doesn’t connect you anywhere. You can proceed according to your wishes. Therefore; In the 2nd year, I decided to move forward in line with my own dreams. I didn’t enjoy university at all in my first year, but what I learned and was very happy to learn; Our school officially established the infrastructure for us in the first year of school. For example, when learning Unity; I did not need to spend a long time on basic algorithm knowledge. My school taught me this from the first year.

That’s why I am now able to learn something in a very pleasant way according to my wishes.

What Is Interesting About Computer Engineering?

Computer engineers, because they are able to develop both hardware and software solutions, might be viewed as more valuable as they can develop innovative ways to fix both hardware and software problems at the same time. Some of them may consider engineering programs or higher-technology programs and pursue positions that aren’t .

Also;

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), which is the professional organization for computer scientists and information professionals, lists the following 10 reasons to major in computing (read more details):

Computing is part of everything we do!

Expertise in computing enables you to solve complex, challenging problems.

Computing enables you to make a positive difference in the world.

Computing offers many types of lucrative careers.

Computing jobs are here to stay, regardless of where you are located.

Expertise in computing helps you even if your primary career choice is something else.

Computing offers great opportunities for true creativity and innovativeness.

Computing has space for both collaborative work and individual effort.

Computing is an essential part of well-rounded academic preparation.

Future opportunities in computing are without boundaries.

Thank you for reading.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.