Journal logo

Why are we part-time writers?

You and I have something in common and you will see the reasons that make us part-time writers

By Dalmy AlvesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Why are we part-time writers?
Photo by Thom Milkovic on Unsplash

Well, living from writing was impossible a few years ago but today with Vocal we have the opportunity, I would say a privilege to be able to live just by writing... in theory, it's beautiful and easy to say but what about in practice?

When writing on Vocal you don't start earning at first, often even in a month, your earnings are worth giving up everything to live writing on Vocal, on average it takes one to two years, let's say three! And this is not just an estimate created by me, but reports from the greatest writers on the platform.

What has happened is that a lot of people hear that writing on Vocal makes money and they come right away thinking they will get rich but that's not quite it, it takes time, it's not magic, it's perseverance.

And this makes these people leave the platform disappointed, it's happened to me, I changed my mind, but why aren't you and me (if you're a part-time writer) full-time writers?

Let's face it, we all have jobs outside of Vocal right?

Can we support our families with what we earn on Vocal?

Just two questions, I leave the others to you, in theory making money on Vocal just writing is beautiful but in practice it's hard, it requires a lot of dedication for quality content and perseverance, so while we're working at our jobs we're writing on Vocal, as time goes on we're persevering in our growth as writers on Vocal and when we get to the point of earning ten times our salary at our jobs there we'll be able to say, ok, Vocal is paying me better... now I can support myself and my family just by writing!

But does that mean we don't love writing on Vocal?

On the contrary, it is because we love to write on the platform that we are determined to make a living from it! It's not just about money, every connection we make with other writers who are many steps ahead of us is important and I wouldn't miss it for money, there are things money can't give you, just relationships!

I think that's how you get to the big goal of living just writing on Vocal or another content monetization platform.

I doubt that the biggest and best writers on Vocal once they knew you could earn enough money writing on the platform, dropped everything just to write, not quite, while you have a job take some time, be determined and write, whether at the beginning of the day before going to work or at the end of the day after work, with time you will see that growth will come, but it is this perseverance that we need, this is very rare these days, with immediacy nothing is achieved!

And so I answer the title question, is this something we have in common? Are these the same reasons you are a part-time writer on Vocal? If so I expect your feedback in the Facebook and if not, don't worry your comment is welcome, I want to know your views on being or not a part-time writer.

In my country, we say Better one bird in the hand than two flyings! By that we mean, don't abandon everything with the certainty that everything will be ok as you think, have two in your hand and only then can you drop one.

Everything that is achieved without effort is easily lost, but everything that is achieved with effort and perseverance has more value.

I wish all writers/readers a lot of success!

product review
2

About the Creator

Dalmy Alves

I'm a young dreamer who seeks to make many dreams come true, one of them is to make a living from writing, I love to write about everything, including the things I love the most, so stay here, maybe you'll identify with me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.