Journal logo

Who's Behind Simily is a Medium Writer

I Went to Meet the New Platform that is Attracting Creators in 2022

By Casimiro Filipe Published 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Screenshot by the author

But what is this platform?

What is so attractive about this platform that is making creators run there?

1 - It pays via PayPal

2 - It pays $0.02 per reading and $20 per 1,000 views

Screenshot

But is it reliable? Can we start writing on it? Will we be safe?

These were some of the questions I asked myself after reading more than 5 stories talking about the platform named Simily.

"It is a joy for us creators when a new place is born where we can share our knowledge through writing, to one day come to call home. But it is very important to contain our emotions when we are just getting to know the place and without much information yet. Especially when it will involve credit card data. "

Where do I want to go?

I woke up one of these days, opened my Medium app to check my metrics on how things were going, and I came across a story talking about a platform called Simily; well, I opened the story to read more and find out what it was about, every paragraph I read of the story made me feel interesting about this place. I finished reading the story, as soon as I went to the main menu, oops! Two more stories from two different creators being recommended to me by the algorithm, and guess what it is about, Simily, again. I stopped and thought… but what platform is this? So I went to Google to look for more details, found the platform, and started reading the working guidelines and the terms and conditions, (I always do this) because if I don't like it there is no point in signing up. So far so good, right? But even after I read the terms and conditions, my doubts remained about the platform, because after reading I saw something very familiar.

What did I see?

In 2020 a platform called Werdy had been born with the address (werdy. media). At first, I thought it was a subsidiary of Creatd, but later I found out that the person behind the platform was Ms. Giselle Roman. Wendy Media came with the same look as Simily, when you read Wendy's terms of services and compare with Simily's terms you can tell they are the same company or at least the same entrepreneur. At first, Wendy came with a good impression, it had a great market trend, if it continued until now it would probably already be at a competitor level behind Medium and Vocal, (it would already be running behind these two blogging giants). The only difference is that between Werdy and Simily, on werdy you would make $50 per thousand views and the calculations were based on monetized ads through Google Adsense, so the revenue was shared just like Hubpages. At Simily, the scenario is different, they have the subscription service, (same as Medium or Vocal). It doesn't have the ad session, I think that was Werdy's big mistake and I believe that's why it didn't work out and eventually closed without giving an explanation and left without paying anyone even with the accumulated balance.

But now I have a big doubt.

Should we be careful with Simily? Could it be that the owner of Werdy Media is the same as Simily?

I went after who is behind Simily before I started creating content there. There are 4 founders, a company created by women and one of them is a Medium creator you can find her profile here

Simily was founded by 4 women and publicly launched in April 2021 by Amelia Skelton - a journalist and content creator trained at the University of London.

Allegra O'Neill - a content developer, trained at Columbia University. Katie Wilson - an English teacher at Tredyffrin Easttown School District in Boston and by Medium Writer Yana Bostongirl - a Top Writer in social media, Creativity, and many other categories among the top Medium creators.

Founers of Simily - LinkedIn

Congratulations to all of them for the achievement in creating a place that we can already say is successful among the creators because Simily's arrival in the market was received with great satisfaction by many Medium creators.

"But there is something that still worries me and at the same time there is also something that makes me completely happy and with high expectations about Simily."

It is already a company because it has 10 employees whose 4 of them are part of the admiring board. So far so good for a small startup that has recently entered the market, it is common to register the flaws, because, in the terms and conditions, detail that we may still be seeing some instabilities in the platform, both in navigation, saving content, payments and many other problems. This is the only part that still worries me. - I would recommend developers not to trust credit card information to pay for packages yet because of the platform's instabilities, as soon as everything is fixed, you can proceed normally.

But is the payment of the package by card the only way we did it?

Well, even though it is the only way to pay for the subscription, there are several banks issuing disposable virtual VIP cards, you can pay for the plan with a disposable card while waiting for the platform to be completely adjusted. Because if something happens it could be complicated for many developers. There are already people saying that the platform is a pyramid scheme because the guaranteed profits are very promising and that the platform may not take long and it will crash. Don't turn those things on, they said the same thing about other platforms that are up and doing well today.

Another part that worries me is that it seems some creators are being blocked without any warning, I really wanted to understand this because I read all the terms and conditions and would like to know what they haven't published yet.

Now the part that makes me really happy about Simily.

For a writing platform just launched to the market, still facing some bugs, and with a lot of acceptance, I see a very big future for it. Soon Simily can attract the big investors and the platform that was created by a quartet of women journalists, writers, creators, and teachers, can be acquired by an ambitious investor and flood the ecosystem of the platform, hire more experienced employees in the field and make it grow and make a lot of noise in the market.

I am a big believer in this project is Simily, I think it can work if these women have great futuristic visions about the platform and I personally would invest in the platform if necessary just to see another home grow where creators can start creating content.

I like Simily, my recommendation is that you can join the platform greatly and while it is early, do not rely on financial data yet. Success is a decision and it can happen at any time, we just need to decide whether we will or not.

feature
Like

About the Creator

Casimiro Filipe

Startup Entrepreneur, Investor, Content Writer, YouTube Business Influencer and Podcaster.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.