Journal logo

"Whenever it is, do it now!"

First Six-Word memoires.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
"Whenever it is, do it now!"
Photo by taichi nakamura on Unsplash

"Do it now"

A sentence I have heard often, but it is true too.

At the same time, when you can't do it now, whatever reasons that might be - financial, practical or no skills - you don't have to be sorry or have regrets if things doesn't work out.

"Whenever it is, do it now" means that whenever something - your dream, your wish to meet your old friends again - you can make plans to get into action to plans the activities. That planning is doing it now, for whenever the plans actually take place.

'Whenever' could be now, three seconds from now, or tomorrow morning.

'Do it now' doesn't have to be this second, immediately, but you can write down your wish, or plan, then think about what you need to do and take the slow or small steps to achieve that wish or plan.

I always have been told to act now, otherwise "end up miserable and unhappy", but you know what? I am not miserable, I am late in self improvement. That is ok. You should do your things in your terms.

It is better to live your life in your tempo, so you actually will be happy, and you will feel free. Whenever I play the violin, I feel free. As of today, I have practiced for an hour instead of the three hours I normally do, because I didn't feel up to, my fingers did't want to work with me, etc...

You don't need to be productive all day long. You may sit on the couch for a while and read your favourite magazine. When you're relaxed again, you have more energy to be productive again. I love it, and do it more often since I cleaned up my room last Summer. You don't have to do read now, but you can schedule it for later in your planner. It is whenever you can, but plan it now to read later. So, do the planning now, and read later.

Whenever is relatable to a timelaps of a short period, a long period, or just time of seconds. Do it now, is more in for the planning: plan now, but the final product takes more time than seconds, days, weeks, months, or even years.

When I practice a piece on the violin, it takes months to actually know the piece: first reading the piece without taking my violin, listening to other recording, reading the score, taking my violin and play slowly note by note, then try to play the melody, if possible try to play a bit faster, etc...

Yes, these steps takes frustration and pain, but it is so rewarding in the end!

Last week, I wrote ten, maybe twenty poems. I love them a lot. I discovered new poetry forms, and I love to try them out. When trying them out, I have to count the syllables, I have to think about words that rhyme, I have to discover new words (at least, that is a mission of mine - English is not my first language), as well as thinking about how I apply all the rules wihtin the freedom of having the feelings of writing poetry as well as expressing myself through poetry.

What would you do when someone says: "Whenever it is, do it now!"?

I would say: "I walk my own tempo trhough life, it is my life and not yours." Maybe that ids rude, but it is the truth. I don't like it - and that is an understatement - when people say to me what I need to do. It is not their life, it is mine.

###

Six-Word Memoires

These Six-Word Memoires are not exactly explaineble in six words; there are more words needed to explain what I want to say with these six words. I have to explain and find the words (I love playing with words), but also, most of the time I have much more to say to you. That is why I come here on Vocal to explain further.

###

###

About the writer

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with her husband and three daughters. You can find her on Vocal, Medium, Elephant Journal, HubPages, Music List. Writing is — aside from playing the violin — one of her passions since childhood. She is on Twitter and Instagram. You can subscribe to my mailing list, and you can subscribe to my Thoughts. Check out her books. She has an online web store, and she has a merchandise store. If you want to be informed about my online store and my merch, please follow this link.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.