Journal logo

When Vocal Earnings Started To Beat A Writer's Medium Earnings

The Ups and Downs of Writing Platforms

By Jason Ray Morton Published 12 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2023
93
When Vocal Earnings Started To Beat A Writer's Medium Earnings
Photo by Morgan Housel on Unsplash

Six months to a year ago, I would not have imagined the possibility I'm about to share. I wouldn't have bet it would become a startling reality. As it has, I'm going to share the facts with you and let you draw whatever conclusions you may.

First of all, I joined Vocal through one of their advertising campaigns back in November 2020. It was a historic slow point in all of our lives. Thanks to the Coronavirus pandemic, all most of us had was work and home. Gyms were closed, bars were closed, and Hollywood was making nothing new for our entertainment.

I've been on Vocal long enough to study the beast and realize that it's gone thru many changes. Change is good, but it's caused hard times for Vocal members over time. Many of the users I first got acquainted with are gone. Others transitioned to Medium.

Screenshot of Author's May and overall earnings

In May, things have picked up dramatically on Vocal, and I'm glad to say that persistence is paying off. Much as in life, persistence, hard work, growth, and finding a good attitude about your situation will pay dividends. Persistence, however, is the key to finding an audience.

Everybody, including greats like Stephen King and J.K. Rowlings, suffers from a crisis of faith at one time or another. If you have been on an upward trajectory, as a writer or in your life, and you fell from that peak then you know how easy it is to lose faith in yourself.

One of the things I've learned over the past three years of writing is that you have to have faith, even when you swear you're going to give up the fight. I can't count the number of times I've wanted to throw in the towel because of self-doubts and self-criticisms.

Authors screen capture/best run in over a year

The downside to giving up, not staying diligent, and letting yourself believe because it's not happening today it won't happen tomorrow is that it's a guaranteed recipe for failure. Today, you may not have gotten to where you want to be or achieve what you hoped.

What would I not have seen, if I had not stuck it out this long? My first story to cross the 5,000 reads point happened this month. The Big Bamboozle looks at the interesting case of a murder+suicide with some unexplainable details. It's an intriguing story, and centers on the real-life deaths of Phillip Marshall and his children.

What else? The biggest struggle as a writer on Vocal is the challenges. Everybody wants to win one, and there's more than one reason to want that accolade.

Financial: Who doesn't want or need an extra $25 to 1000 dollars?

Validation: Getting noticed by Vocal's judges for something you write is a good feeling, even if it's just a runner-up spot they give you.

Bragging Rights: When you score a win, not only does it feel good inside, but having your name at the top of the list gives you bragging rights. You can tell your family and friends that all the work you put into a story paid off. You can even take them out for dinner or drinks to celebrate!

In May, Vocal credited the runners-up to the Time Capsule Challenge, of which I was one. That means I stuck it out enough to get that far, and who knows what I might do if I continue.

Medium

Much as Vocal went through a downward period, Medium has been experiencing the same trends. And, while May could be a fluke, it has already been a better month in May on Vocal than April was on Medium.

April Medium earnings were $58.00

May Vocal earnings so far, $60.81

Persistence is crucial, because it's worth it to be persistent if it pays off, and over time it has paid off. Yes, on Medium I've had single stories make 700 and even 800 dollars, while that's proven to be a much longer game on Vocal. But, if not for one boring night in November 2021, I wouldn't have started on Vocal and eventually found Medium.

It's all a matter of perspective.

By Fab Lentz on Unsplash

industryproduct review
93

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Thank you for the encouragement.

  • Natalie Wilkinson11 months ago

    Thanks for the encouragement. I’m still waiting to break even on either subscription, but I’m coming close on Medium thanks to one person who joined through my link.

  • Mahmoudi Belhassen11 months ago

    Good job ❤️

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing❤️ Also congratulations with a story passing 5000 reads and also on your recent runner up on the Time Capsule Challenge😊

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Yay! Great testimonial! Congratulations on the recognition Jason. 🥰🥇 Didn’t you post a story about your 5000 read story and how you attained it?

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    What a wonderful article! Thank you for sharing, and way to go! It's encouraging to read about another writer's journey. Also, congratulations on the well-earned Top Story!

  • Misty Rae11 months ago

    I don't think any platform is perfect. I joined Vocal first, and we all know my track record here by now. I've done very well with challenges. But reads? Not really. Medium, on the other hand, is better for reads, but not as good as it was.this time last year, I was pulling in 4 figures pee month on my reads. Now, not so much. I suppose it's all what you put into it and I haven't put as much in as I used to on either platform. I've been busy with other things. Maybe I should get back at it 😋

  • Sikiru Noah11 months ago

    Very interesting keep it up

  • Prashanth S Kumar11 months ago

    Your post is an inspiration to put out more engaging content here. I got into vocal media just a few weeks before. Good luck and have more green days :-)

  • Sonam Kohli11 months ago

    It is inspiring for me. I recently figured out that we can earn from this platform

  • Barry Hake11 months ago

    Thank you.You have just inspired me to carry on!

  • Zane Britton11 months ago

    This was very inspiring, thanks!

  • morry page11 months ago

    great story and thank you for the motivation.

  • Marilyn Glover11 months ago

    Great work Jason and congratulations on top story. It's nice to see a comparison between Vocal and Medium. I've had my equal share of highs and lows but I cannot give up because writing means too much to me. Keep at it! 👏 😃

  • Alexander McEvoy11 months ago

    I started writing on Vocal because I love writing and was doing it anyway. This seemed like a really good way to not only get challenges (literally) but also share my work with my friends. They don’t read as many of my posts as I’d like, but I have found it extremely satisfying as my small amount of growth continues. I don’t know where this ramble is going, but I really enjoyed your article!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Great article. Congrats on the TS

  • Heather Lunsford11 months ago

    Food for thought for sure. Thank you for sticking it out long enough to share your wisdom with me.

  • Mark Gagnon11 months ago

    I must admit, after about a year and a half I still haven't figured out what makes a top story. The stories I put my all into barely get noticed while some that were more of a fluke get picked as top. Like you, I'll keep plugging away because I like writing. The recognition is extra.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    I really needed this piece to get me thinking about what I want from these pages. Great TS, sir!

  • HOLAREH TV11 months ago

    Inspirational

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Woohoo!!! Love this story!!! Congratulations on T S too!!!💖💖💕

  • Gal Mux11 months ago

    Oh a very transparent story. Congratulations on your milestones so far and thank you for sharing and for the tips

  • a dash11 months ago

    Congratulations sir

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    Congratulations Jason! Perseverance pays off! I'm so glad you are able to see the success you were working towards. Keeping writing and inspiring!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    congrats on TS!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.