Journal logo

When to Use a Pen Name

When a pen name is the right way to go...

By Kris KendallPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
When is it okay to use a different name online?

When I wrote my very first “book,” I had no idea whether or not a single person would buy it. What I did know is that under no circumstances did I want my mom or kids or neighbors to buy it. Not only was the content a bit too steamy for the average grandma next door, but it was also just controversial enough that I wasn’t sure how my employer or the kids’ teachers would respond.

I considered tucking my book away on a thumb drive under the title of Archived Tax Records so no one would ever be tempted to snoop in there, but I really wanted to test my writing skills and find out if anyone had any interest in the things I had to say. I wanted to get my words out in the world, but I was afraid to put my name on those words.

At least in the beginning.

So, instead of chickening out and giving up on publishing my book all together, I came up with a pen name that I liked and went ahead and published it. Without telling a single soul. I just put it out there and walked away, terrified of what would happen next.

To my surprise, the world didn’t end. In fact, my little book that was just a hint of controversy and a heap of steamy angst went straight to the top of the genre lists on Amazon. I logged into my publishing dashboard on Amazon a few days after I hit publish and was shocked to see close to a thousand dollars in sales for my $.99 book.

And I still hadn’t told a single soul.

I thought I’d hit the jackpot because I found a way to publish the books I wanted to write without fear of what other people would think about it. My author name was a secret identity that allowed me to open up without being self-conscious in the least. I thought it was the perfect solution.

For a while, it was.

Then reality hit. I wanted to promote my books on Facebook, but Facebook doesn’t allow “not real people” to create accounts. So, I had to either create a page for my secret pen name on my personal profile... or go against the Facebook T&Cs and hope they didn’t shut down my account. I won’t confirm or deny which way I went.

And then I went to my first book signing and I had to use my credit card to register so the name tag that was handed to me was in my real name, which I was trying to keep confidential, and I didn’t have an easy way to tell people what my author name was without having to go into a deep explanation. In the end, I just made my own name tag and it all worked out, but it reminded me that being a “secret agent” with dual lives wasn’t as easy as I thought it might be.

Keeping my separate identities separate was hard enough, but once I had several pen names to track, it was almost impossible to maintain a social media platform for each one.

I’m telling you this not to discourage you from using a pen name. Quite the contrary, actually. I think in most cases, you probably should use a pen name. Unless you’re writing a book to prove your credibility or expertise in your field, having some anonymity and “distance” from the fans who might not always have your best interests in mind isn’t a bad idea.

When I started writing, I had young kids that I didn’t want exposed to the content but I also didn’t want them exposed to strangers who might think they knew me IRL... when they didn’t.

I didn’t have illusions of becoming the next Stephen King or J. K. Rowling, but I’ve seen enough posts by “unstable” readers who are a bit obsessed with authors to know privacy was important. In this world of full transparency and sharing everything 24/7, there’s still a place for keeping your home life separate from your work/professional life.

Regardless of what you choose, always be kind and authentic in everything you write.

Kris Kendall is a publishing coach, helping hundreds of authors get their manuscripts off their computers and into their hot little hands without having to face rejection or judgment. She’s president of The Published Club—and looking for new members to join the ranks every day.

advice
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.