Journal logo

What Makes the Perfect Vocal Article

Exploring a Platform

By Cici WoodsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
What Makes the Perfect Vocal Article
Photo by Leighann Blackwood on Unsplash

I published my first story on Vocal about a month ago, and this has been my first foray into paid writing; however, I've been writing as a hobby since high school when I dreamed of becoming a novelist. While I have created this purely for myself as an emotional and creative outlet, my sense of ambition can't help but notice some of my stories have gone completely unread.

One could argue that it is simply because my content is uninteresting, and that may be true (although my sense of pride desperately hopes it not to be); however, in order to know if my story is boring, it must first be opened by someone, which for some have not happened. In reading one of the many lovely pieces on this platform, I saw one user created article of comparing Vocal to Medium. It wasn't directly related to my situation, but in reading it I learned that there isn't a rule against making calls to action from your audience, so I wanted to run an experiment with the few who stumble upon this article. The experiment will hopefully be beneficial for all the creators on this site as I seek to answer, what makes the perfect Vocal piece?

Unfortunately, candid feedback through this platform is difficult without comments. That said, I recently added a link in my bio to a survey where I will accept feedback on my content. I hope this will help me grow as a writer and that I will be able to share it with my fellow authors.

To get started in understanding why some of my work is seen and others forgotten, I will summarize the pieces which currently have 0 reads.

Beyond Death: The Bigger Picture of COVID-19

Published to the Humanity Community

This article is a combination of me reflecting on the impact that last year has had on all of us as we struggle through this pandemic as well as utilizing my own story to explain some of the less discussed consequences of the disease. As a young adult who was theoretically not at-risk if I caught the virus, it was a shock to both myself and my family how brutally it hit me and the complications I'm still facing. I don't believe my experience is unique and want to use it to raise awareness for the importance of complying with CDC guidelines even if your individual risk is low.

I Finally Found The Answers!: Everything Finally Makes Sense

Published to the Recovery Community

This is a reflection piece where I address the residual questions I had about my emotionally abusive relationship. Having a break through in these areas, I wanted to share them with others who may be struggling with similar questions about similar experiences. It confronts the psychological tendency for victims to self-blame or self-doubt by opening a window into the mind of their attackers.

Reprocessing: A journey in and of itself

Published to the PTSD Community

Here I compare my own experiences to the warning signs of gaslighting described in a Psychology Today article. This exercise helps consciously break down the subconscious barriers to healing by spelling out where the damage occurred. Publishing this is meant to be a guide for how to dissect an ongoing experience into the important details that will help survivors like myself.

Making My Scars Beautiful: The Baby Steps of Recovery From Trauma

Published to the Trauma Community

This challenge submission explores my mental health goals for 2021 as I continue to battle PTSD. Deviating from traditional resolutions of weight loss and exercise, I hone in on how my mental illness is affecting my life whilst presenting a realistic and positive outcome that I want to achieve for myself. I take some literary measures to paint the metaphor of healing that will never be complete.

Thank you all so much for creating with me on this platform and helping me learn through trial and error. All of the pieces I've read have been beautiful and interesting, which I hope to replicate in my own work. I'm looking forward to your feedback and sharing what I learn in another article. In the mean time, feel free to like, tip, and read my other content if you should so desire!

list
1

About the Creator

Cici Woods

College student, writing hobbyist, and most definitely not an alien.If you would be interested in giving me more verbose feedback on my writing than what the platform currently allows, please do so here: https://forms.gle/fCY5pZK7iuLb8Pbb9

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.