Journal logo

What Is Your Passion?

Don't Be Tempted to Sell Out!

By Analise DionnPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
6
Author's photo

Have you ever hit a wall with your creativity? I can’t say it’s ever happened to me… yet. Hopefully, it never does.

I do see a lot of people on these writing platforms that seem to be grasping at straws for topics that are going to grab people’s attention. It makes me a little bit sad when I read a piece that is just thrown out there in a feeble attempt at garnering a little attention.

Writing shouldn’t feel forced. Trust me that feeling comes through for your readers. You should be able to get as much out of your writing as you want your readers to experience.

I see a lot of advice on here about optimizing your read counts by choosing topics and keywords that are getting the most attention. I see references to SEOs and NFTs, I looked the terms up, so I know what they mean. What if there’s nothing there that gets your mojo going?

I won't even bother getting in to that too much. I don't know a lot about it and I really don't want to. I've read articles written by people who obviously don't have a real interest in them. Trust me, that is not enjoyable reading!

When you choose to write about things you don't love, eventually, you’ll lose your passion for writing. That would be a travesty.

Personally, writing is somewhat therapeutic. I have ADHD. Thoughts and ideas tend to fly around in my brain until I can find some way to release them. Sometimes it can be like a hurricane. The simplest of tasks are impossible to complete until I can purge my mind of some of the other ideas that are bombarding me. Writing gives me that outlet.

Each and every one of us has something worthwhile to share. I assure you, if it feels important to you it will be important enough to someone else that they will take the time to read it. It is your authenticity that is going to bring people back to see what else you have to say.

Life is a rich and colorful journey, even in its darkest moments. As writers, we have a special gift. We are artists. We have the opportunity to paint vibrant pictures with simple words. It is a gift that we should hold sacred.

We ought not to be selling ourselves out by jumping on board the latest trend just to make a few more pennies. Doing so will crush our very soul.

This need not be a mundane job. It is a fascinating adventure! Use your words to breathe more life into your passions. Write to fuel your excitement for living! Recognize yourself as the artist that you are. Know that in sharing things you are passionate about, you may very well inspire someone to try something new and find that joy too.

Life is far too short to be wasting our time on things that we don’t truly care about. Leave those subjects for the people who do find them intriguing and inspiring. They will instill more passion into their work and it makes for a better read.

Allow your true, authentic, passionate spirit to shine when you write.

This piece was originally published on Medium. It has been edited to meet Vocal standards.

If you have enjoyed this piece please feel free to leave a heart. Tips and pledges are always appreciated as well, although certainly not expected. You can subscribe to be able to more easily find my work and feel free to check out my other work here.

If you are also a writer, consider joining Vocal+ for an opportunity to get paid for your writing and participate in interesting challenges with some pretty awesome cash awards!

how to
6

About the Creator

Analise Dionn

This life began with trauma. Now married, with 2 adult children and raising a grandchild with FASD/PTSD/ADHD. Navigating this very personal journey of healing with ADHD, thriving after a lifetime of abuse... all through the grace of God.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.