Journal logo

What did I learn after publishing my first eBook which was a big flop?

Mistakes that you should never make in your writing journey.

By Prabhanjay TiwariPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
What did I learn after publishing my first eBook which was a big flop?
Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

Writing was always my favorite thing from childhood days. I had made lots of journals since I was 10. I used to write all the thoughts which came into my mind anytime.

At the age of 18 when I completed my schooling, I started writing more and more, which gave me a dream to become a Published Author. And then I started researching more about writing a book and publishing it to the market. BUT unfortunately, I fell down to a YouTube video that was claiming me to make a lot of money by only publishing eBooks on Amazon.

Because of my love for writing, I became greedy that I could make a lot of money through writing but I was unaware of the fact that in the initial days you have to work for making your writing better instead of working for money.

And this was the only thing that went wrong.

I started Googling, watching videos and I even purchased a course so that I could learn to build an ebook as professionals make nowadays. And, in a span of one week, I learned how can I publish an ebook online and earn from it. I started building a book on Online Earning or you can say Making Money Online which I was surely not earning.

Personal Opinion: Readers are really smart nowadays so if you're writing a book so that you can earn from it, I just want to say don't.

When I started writing the book it felt easy that I will complete this book in a few days but then the days came when nothing was coming into my mind and writing a single on-screen was very challenging to me, which made me realize that writing a book is really an uphill battle either it is an ebook or a complete physical book.

But despite this fact, I tried, researched, and gave my hundred percent, and later after a lot of dedication and hard work it got completed. I was too happy that day when it got completed. I made a book cover which was a good one with no past experience.

I published it free on Amazon with Kindle Publishing and I priced it at $2.99, which was worth it more than a Starbucks Coffee and as I knew that it was not a high amount for a book that has a lot of information in it, so I was too confident that it would sell a large number of copies in a couple of days.

But days last, weeks last, months have gone and I literally never wanted anyone to know about this but ya here I am telling that not even a single ebook copy sold and it's been over 3 months now. Just a few copies were sold when I made the book available for free for a week for its promotion. I don't why people were not buying because it was ranking good in Amazon Books, maybe they knew that how to make money online.

Yes, I failed, I literally failed and I really can't believe it.

But I have always known that failure is a part of the learning process and if you applied this learning properly you will surely get success.

Not today but one day it will be your day.

So here I am telling you what mistakes I made which you should not make.

What I learned

  • Never go for money at the start: Going for money is never the right choice especially at the start of anything. Instead of dreaming and going for earning a lot of money at the start with having no experience, you should learn and try to be better at your skills. Make yourself more skill full which will eventually turn you into an extra worthy person.
  • Don't expect anything in return: Doing this mistake will make you feel depressed when results will not go in your way as you expected. Put your whole effort in it, do everything which will make that thing work, make you every second count for that thing but leave on to your hard work and please doesn't expect anything in return. It's better to get surprised by the results rather than considering and expecting that you've passed in it before the results.
  • Don't do anything out of your league: Always do the things which make your passion more alive. I know my passion was writing but I was writing thoughts and my learnings not writing researches and tricks, this was not my league. It's okay if you still want to do anything out of your league, do it, but first know about the thing, learn from experts and their experiences, and then dive into it.
  • Time is Money: The amount of time I gave to the book should have made something more worthy. So spend your time wisely. Identify the work you are doing right now is worth it or not. If you think that it will help you in the future be dedicated to it but if you think that it is a waste of time, just leave it the moment this thought comes into your head.

Tell you one thing that despite this failure my ebook was still worth it. And if you want to buy a copy of that book. You can click here.

advice
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.