Journal logo

What A Week!

I’ve missed my daily routine

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 5 min read
5
What A Week!
Photo by NOAA on Unsplash

I’m guessing most of you are aware I’ve been dealing with flooding and extreme weather events over the last ten days.

With this in mind I have not written anything for a week. Unheard of for me……..as I need to write. I need to empty my head and heart onto the screen to survive and stay sane.

Trust me……you don’t want to live in my head, especially if I can’t find the time to release some of the thoughts running around in there.

I do want to apologise as I’m a long way behind on my reading. I’m trying to catch up, I promise………..it’s absolutely amazing how much my stats have suffered because I’ve been absent for a week.

It’s been a rough ten days, what with the flooding and then dangerous thunderstorms day after day. We did manage 1.5 days of sunshine before being hit with another thunderstorm and wild weather yesterday afternoon. Two suburbs over from me experienced 8 to 9cm hail stones yesterday. I’m sorry but I’m thankful they did not make it to my suburb, but I feel for those that did experience this hailstorm on top of everything else.

So, just to give you an example of how my week has unfolded, here is a running commentary on my morning yesterday.

——

Two steps forward, ten steps backwards……….is how my day is going.

Started mowing my lawn yesterday with my electric mower. Got two battery sessions done but that’s not much because the grass is wet and soggy.

Not a good move because when I tried to mow more today, the mower will not start. Tried everything, even unclogged all the vents from yesterday’s exercise. Guessing the clogged vents burnt the motor out……..grrrrrr!

Take my son’s car (because it’s behind mine and I’m too lazy to swap them out) and head to Bunnings to buy a petrol mower.

All good……..get someone to help me get it to the car but he took me out a different door.

Now anyone who knows me, knows I have the worst sense of direction on anyone you’ve ever met. I was totally disoriented and had to admit to this guy that I have no idea where my car was. 😞

He asked me which door I walked in but both doors made no sense to me. I told him there must be another door………there was! He took me to that door and then I knew where my car was parked………didn’t feel like a dickhead at all lol.

Anyway get to the car and I don’t know how to open the boot hahaha. Luckily the guy had a lancer too and he knew how to. The boot opens and it’s packed full of shit…….are you kidding me!

This poor guy managed to get the new mower into the back seat.

I then asked him, since he has a lancer, how to open the fuel cap because I couldn’t for the life of me see where the latch was………who’d think to look on the floor beside the seat!

See why I should never leave my house!!!

Then, when I get home, I have to get the mower out of the car on my own, which I somehow managed.

I go to the shed to get a tool out, open the door and water pools around my ankles. I didn’t realise the shed had flooded too. So I spent the next two hours throwing out wet soggy shit into the bins until they were full.

Now I’m too hot and too tired to mow the lawns…….so I went through that all for nothing.

I am taking the rest of the day off…….Universe is obviously telling me no work today!!!

—-

Of course, I didn’t really take the day off……..except from trying to mow the lawns. I still had to sort more of the wet, soggy and very smelly items in the shed and I still have ceilings, walls and doors to wash as they are growing mould. Not that I got it all done yesterday. There’s still plenty more to do.

I’ll end this here or it’ll never see the light of day.

I would like to take this opportunity to say thank you for those few souls that have been sending me love and support. You have made such a difference to my week. I thank you for your friendship, love and concern. Thank you, I may have been down but never beaten.

A week that’s been very isolating as I haven’t even been able to see my oldest son as the floods have kept us apart and my youngest son has missed it all while holidaying in America.

But on saying that, the waters have receded enough that my oldest son can get through today and is planning to pop over for the afternoon. Oh it’ll be glorious to spend time with another human being.

I even managed to use the new mower to mow a walkway from the driveway to the front door so my son is not having to walk through very high, wet, soggy grass. I gave up after that as the grass is really too wet to mow!

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

fact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.