Journal logo

Watching Intersteller (2014)

Life is fragile

By Mikker Gimenez-PetersonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Watching Intersteller (2014)
Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

*Contains spoilers*

A man has made at least a start on discovering the meaning of life when he plants shade trees under which he knows he will never sit.

I didn't feel captivated by the power of space as a kid. I loved going to the planetarium and staring off into infinity, and I had stick-on glow in the dark stars on my ceiling. But the idea that we as humans should find ourselves among the stars didn't grab my imagination.

When I was in my late teens I watched a TV special asking whether the USA had faked the moon landings. Later I remember hanging out with my best friend smoking on the back porch of the apartment we were sharing. I mentioned that because of this documentary I was convinced(I wasn't really convinced I was just having fun with it) we had never really gone to space. The conversation got heated, with my friend so strongly defending the USA's journey to space that he wound cried.

Recently I've been thinking more about how spiritual space is.

Interstellar doesn't just explore the vastness of space. It explores the fragility of time.

So much becomes significant when you realize how fleeting it is. We only get one short life on this planet, and Cooper, the main character of Interstellar decides to spend a few days of his trying to save the world. Spending hours on a distant planet that pass as decades for his children, only to be tricked by another astronaut who draws him to a world that is not populable. Decades lost in an instant. The relationship between a father and daughter is broken. One of the only things that can matter in a life. I don't know if it makes me selfish, but it certainly makes me think about selflessness. About how many lives in the history of human existence have been so short. Babies who never really appreciated consciousness. Children who just started. Teenagers who thought they were invincible. And the decision to live selflessly. What's the point of life if none of us are attached to it?

Climate change may end our species; and this is so significant and perhaps so insignificant, universally speaking. It's hard to forget how insignificant it is universally speaking.

But so is individual death. Humans are compelled by stories, and the idea that the entire planet is dying doesn't compel us nearly as much as the fact that one man missed his daughter growing up and then the daughter saves humankind and he finally gets to watch his daughter die. And I can't help but realize how fragile life is.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.