Journal logo

update #3 about leaving corporate America

yes another one

By Lena BaileyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

So in my last update I shared that my general manager was fired and that there was more of an urgency to leave. That's where we pick up.

I found out that the GM wasn't really fired he was just moved to yet another store. This store he is at is his 3rd store in at least a year. Our new GM will start their job sometime this month. At this moment we are dealing with a temp GM. She is doing what the old GM did for our store. She did one thing that other managers refuse to do. She separated me from a girl that was making this job a hostile work environment. She gave us different schedule. I don't know if other managers don't want to do anything about stuff like this or they just won't.

Let's talk about the urgency to leave. Now I am leaving to avoid things getting worse. I know things can get worse and I don't want to be around when that happens. I haven't been happy there for awhile and I know that me leaving would be the best thing that could happen. I also had my hours cut from 30 almost 40 most recent weeks to like 20.

So let's talk the other stuff that made my decision for me. They claim that they had to cut people's hours and yet they are hiring new people. They've pulled this shit before and it was one of multiple lies that I suspect they told to me. I decided that before they cut my hours to much I would look at my choices and pick one. If I make a choice that includes more than the normal process of getting hired than I would start the process. Now I'm lucky I write and make money it's not much but I am making something.

It's not just the hours that made my decision, it's the attitude and the people. I want to make one thing perfectly clear, there are great people that work there but like the old saying goes it only takes one to ruin the bunch. I've had run ins with people I work with or have worked with. They either do nothing or they eventually do something when push comes to shove. I just get tired of people's attitude. I have mental health issues and I have to stay away from stress as much as possible.

Also there were discussion that have happened or comments that have been made that makes me think that some of my coworkers are very transphobic or phobic when it comes to the LGBT community. I try to remove myself from the situation or talk to them and I'm given the blow off. I know that in the community where I work there is a lot of homophobia and transphobia. I'm not gay or trans but you don't have to be to have a problem with that kind of hate.

I am now working towards 2 goals while I'm looking for another job. I'm trying to make more money at writing and possibly get some kind of certification or degree so that I can get a better job in another field. It's hard to basically start over in another job or field but it is something that has to be done sometimes.

I know this was a lot and it was mainly me complaining but I thought I should make this post and update.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Lena Bailey

Georgia born writer. Specializing in dating and true crime

If you have any questions or comments please email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.