Journal logo

Unexpected honesty

How a chance encounter with a stranger's honesty can inspire another

By Alicia AnspaughPublished about a year ago 3 min read

It's funny,

I was actively dreading going in to work that day.

My little son wasn't feeling great and I was seriously dragging from lack of sleep. But I got up and we went in anyways, I really do love being able to take my son to work with me, And as the day wore on....we met quite a few lovely people and it turned out to be a great day.

That's the great thing about having my own business...all of the people that I meet, and the ones that I can help.

It's part of the reason that I started this business, to help ease peoples burdens and stresses and help them to find solutions they might not have otherwise considered.

It's a wonderful feeling, helping people.

Then a young lady came in that ended up helping me.

She had recently moved here from out of state and she & her partner had been going through a lot. She opened up about it to me that day, and I felt her sincerity.

She had taken a tragedy and turned it in to a powerful transformational experience for herself. Allowing it to change her in a positive way.

I told her of my own experiences in that area and how I had not handled them quite so well. How in fact, I had become completely non functional while dealing with the past traumas that were brought back in full color with horrifying symmetry.

With my honesty, it was like a wave of opened up in her and she let go of some of her self consciousness long enough to admit to some of the harder parts of the experience that she went through. She also felt safe enough to admit that she still dealt with the aftermath of the experience.

It was then that I spoke with her about a particularly personal supernatural experience while I was in the worst part of the aftermath of my own experiences. I hadn't told any of my clients about it, I felt that it was too dramatic and was impractical to share. I was also a bit hesitant to admit to the incident due to the experience that it was connected to.

I didn't even mean for it to come out ,it just did.

Oddly, she resonated with it and it brought her some peace. She seemed to heal little more before my eyes. She made her purchases and left a while after our conversation had turned to lighter topics, but after seeing how sharing my personal pain and the supernatural incident that was tyed in with it I realized that it was a story that I needed to share.

The craziest part about this is that I am currently working on a book about Spirit Guides and its been a bit of a challenge , weighing what to put in the book- what to share- and what to leave out, and Iv been feeling as though something has been missing from this book.

Honestly, this book started from my clients questions and then came out as a class.

I kept getting more and more questions so I decided to put some of the experiences of my clients, my family, my friends and myself as well as some of the knowledge that Iv acquired while working with my and other folks spirit guides down for posterity to try and help shed some light on this subject for the people who come to my shop and anyone else who has questions.

That young woman gave me the piece of information, the story if you will, that my book has been missing all this time.

I'm not sure if this counts as two ships passing, but I will say it was a small moment that had a huge impact on me. It has inspired me to open up more within my book, a book that is meant to help people. So Thank you young Miss, You are truly an inspiration!

businesshumanityadvice

About the Creator

Alicia Anspaugh

Hello! I primarily paint & write non fiction, but I love writing the stories that dance around in my head. Thank you for reading!

Subscribe if you wish!

Positive Vibes,

Alicia

Check out my Metaphysical blog-

desmoinesnewage.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alicia AnspaughWritten by Alicia Anspaugh

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.