Journal logo

Trying To Earn Money On Vocal

Like a lot of people, I joined Vocal because of their promise of getting paid for writing. However, I've been on here for over a year, and I've made just over $1!

By Rebecca SmithPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
18

Like many students, I'm very low on money. Before Covid hit, I was working every spare hour I had - which often meant I was trying to complete assignments at stupid o'clock in the morning. So, I thought I'd join Vocal. I knew it wouldn't earn me hundreds or I'd be able to pack up my job and live off my earnings from this, but I didn't expect to earn just over $1 for a year. That's awful! I'm so disheartened and honestly, quite angry.

They introduced tips - a way for readers to pay you an amount for something you've written on here. But, there is no way that someone is going to do that. I know a few writers on here, and none of us have ever received these so-called tips. I wonder if it's just a strategy to make you join, in all honesty.

Because of Covid, I lost my job. The place I worked was forced to close it's doors forever. As I'm trying to break out into the film and television industry as a writer, it's extremely hard to find a new job anyway, but it's even harder now that I've had to move out of the London area because I couldn't afford rent. I've been applying to anything and everything, just in the hope of earning some money, but all I've been told is that I'm too over-qualified because, and I quote, I 'have a Masters degree, so why do you want to work for Lidl?'

I really, really thought that Vocal would be some sort of saving grace for me. You need to earn a minimum of about $35 to be able to withdraw any money. That's not a great deal in English money, but even £20 can feed me for just over a week. Any little amount of money helps right now. I've sold virtually everything I own on eBay, but that money is running out fast, because Student Finance refuse to stop my repayments whilst I'm not working. I've had to move in with my dad - which is a nightmare. I miss my freedom and having the money do to what I want, when I want.

So, if you're looking to join Vocal for the money, don't. Just don't. You'll get no where. The idea behind the website is fantastic, and if they improve, then I will write another post giving them a glowing review, but I don't believe I'll ever hit the $35 mark, and I certainly don't believe that the tips thing is real.

It really sucks.

It’s becoming increasingly hard for people to earn money. Like I said, I’ve sold virtually everything I own on eBay and I still have no money to live off. I was never loaded, I’ve always had to struggle to make ends meet, but this is tiring and exhausting. They tell you that you need to go to university to get a job. But, by the time you’ve finished university, they say that you’re over qualified. Then, you’re just in debt to student finance and you’re back to square one. Websites like Vocal promise the world, but don’t really deliver. I actually really like Vocal, but I think they could be doing more to help out their writers.

If you find yourself in a similar situation to me, please be aware of websites that get you to do surveys for money and stuff. I’ve tried them all, and none of them really pay out. InboxPounds was the only one that did, but it took me forever to do it. There is an app called Shoppix that pay you for snapping pictures of your receipts (online and in-store). It takes a while, but I have managed to get £40 from them, so it might be worth a try. Plus, it’s free money at the end of the day.

Don’t lose faith. Better things should come. I wish you all the best of luck, and hopefully we all come out of this better people – and richer!

product review
18

About the Creator

Rebecca Smith

She/Her

Just be f*cking nice 🙌

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Rebecca Smith is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.