Journal logo

Trump Again

Deja vu in the White House?

By Kathryn ParkerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by: youtube.com

Growing up, my family was very politically divided. My mother had been a steadfast Democrat after Regan's policies on social security and my father had always been a loyal Republican. Rarely, though they have voted for the other party once or twice, did my parents ever see eye to eye on politics and it was a hot button topic for my childhood and even now. It leads to name calling, bullying, and mocking on both sides with me acting as the devil's advocate or referee (depending on my mood). You shouldn't be surprised then that I chose neither party. I tend to stick to the Libertarian party if I vote for a party at all. Unfortunately, I do have to vote Democrat or Republican, essentially feeling like I have to choose between my father or mother's values. Election times can be a little trying for someone who knows it doesn't matter in the end. The easily corruptible and corrupted always prevail, the government has no need for the voice of the People. It needs compliance and cooperation. Your vote doesn't matter, and it doesn't matter who runs. Or does it?

I know that might sound a bit everywhere and with the ADD, I might be a bit everywhere on my opinions, I'll never deny that. However, when looking at the voting process, it does make sense that things can seem confusing to someone with limited interest in politics. Politics were very much ruined for me so young as it was something that was argued and debated every year in my house. It was toxicity that leaked slowly into everyday existence. The Elephant in the room, playing Pin The Tail on The Donkey while I danced around, twirling my thoughts into an escape. It's no surprise to anyone that I have no opinion when someone asks me who I'd vote for in any given election.

But I have a STRONG opinion for this next one as Trump makes his bid once again for President.

Though it would be interesting to see Donald Trump and Joe Biden go head-to-head again, it would end in disappointment for America once again. Both men are strong candidates with political and business backgrounds that I would never call anything but impressive. However, both men are also older with Trump turning 78 in 2024 and Biden 82 in 2024. The ages themselves would not be an issue in any other government position possibly, but in an office that notoriously ages you, it could be a life and death battle.

Just think: how stressful is your job?

Mine with only supervising 40-60 people can feel like the world is crushing me.

Now, add about 332,403,590 living flesh cycles to that number (number of Americans in 2022 according to http://www.commerce.com) and you have a literal nation on your shoulders.

We could talk about the psychology of this knowledge and how it affects the brain especially in advanced age, but if you look at the presidencies of both, you find more evidence for bringing someone younger into the office. Both Biden and Trump have been blamed for crises that inflicted our nation with poverty and disease (Trump: the C-word pandemic and Biden: gas prices and new strains of the C-word).

If those are the candidates that make it to the election, I encourage for voting Libertarian for the first time in some of your lives.

Of course, this is just my opinion. One thing I love more than anything is that you can vote. Maybe it doesn't make any difference in the grand plan, but it is a freedom that some people don't have. They don't get the "I Voted" stickers to post on social media, they don't get to feel like they have a voice, or even an illusion that they have one. They get the threat of death if they speak.

If those arguments my mom and dad had growing up taught me one thing: Don't live in silence even if no one hears you. It doesn't matter if others understand, don't cut your voice to please anyone.

Credit: https://www.campaigntoolkit.org/casestudies/dont-be-silent/

politics
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Parker

Life is amazing. Life is horrible. It just depends on your day and attitude.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.