Journal logo

To be a published author is the best experience ever says Shahjad Khan.

'A Compendium Of Depression and Anxiety' is his 1st book.

By Rachel MukherjeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Shahjad Khan is an Instagram Influencer who promotes national and international books.

Shahjad Khan is an author who enjoys both reading and writing. Being a literature student he believes that writing is a beautiful medium to express oneself. After completing his schooling at St. Anselm’s Ajmer, he graduated in English Honors and post graduated in MA English at St. Xavier’s College Jaipur. His first book is ‘A Compendium of Depression and Anxiety’ which is getting some really good reviews.

We had a good chat with him after the release of his book, let's find out what he has to say.

Q. How does it feel to be a published author?

For me, it’s been the best experience ever, because everyone – friends, family, fellow writers, readers – has been so supportive and so kind, it’s truly humbling.

Q. Have you ever thought that one day your research paper would be a published book?

I never thought that my research paper would be a published book. I was already working on a romance novel from a very long time but my friends and teachers really liked my research paper and asked me to get it published. I submitted it and my publisher accepted my research paper and published it internationally.

Q. Tell us something about ‘A Compendium of depression and anxiety’.

Now-a-days the word depression has taken a strong root in our day to day vocabulary, sometimes used casually while other times underestimated mockingly. We can see the reasons for lack of awareness, but is it enough to know that and not back it up with appropriate actions? What is the first step? One has to know one's enemy before dealing with it.

The Compendium of Depression and Anxiety acts as an antidote to all factoids presented on various blogs. It is relieving to know that all information; from cause to cure can be gained through this easy to read manual guide.

Q. Tell us about your life and background a bit.

I’m originally from Ajmer City, Rajasthan. I graduated in English Honors and post graduated in English Literature from St. Xavier’s College, Jaipur.

I decided to study English because I’ve always loved reading and writing and studying literature in general. I’m now looking to gain experience in the world of writing, a field I’m passionate about because of its ability to inform and engage readers. Also I’m completing my Bachelor of Education from Rajasthan University.

Shahjad Khan with his Book.

Q. Since when are you an Instagram influencer? What triggered your popularity there?

I became an Instagram Influencer 2 years back. I already had a good audience on Instagram and being a literature student I chose Books as my niche and started promoting books from both Indian and International Authors. Now my page is followed by so many international authors and it is growing every day.

Q. What are you going to do next as an influencer and writer?

Currently I’m finishing my second book which is a romance novel. And as an influencer I’m working on my website so that I can reach a wider audience which will help both, me and the authors I’m working with.

Q. Your message to upcoming non-fiction writers.

My message to upcoming non-fiction writers is to get clear on what they want to achieve with their nonfiction book and understand the subgenre of nonfiction they are going to write.

Dерrеѕѕіоn іѕ сlаѕѕіfіеd аѕ a mооd disorder. It mау bе dеѕсrіbеd аѕ fееlіngѕ оf ѕаdnеѕѕ, lоѕѕ, оr аngеr thаt іntеrfеrе wіth a реrѕоn’ѕ еvеrуdау асtіvіtіеѕ. Dерrеѕѕіоn іѕ a mood dіѕоrdеr thаt іnvоlvеѕ a реrѕіѕtеnt fееlіng оf ѕаdnеѕѕ аnd lоѕѕ оf іntеrеѕt. It is different frоm thе mооd fluсtuаtіоnѕ thаt реорlе rеgulаrlу еxреrіеnсе аѕ a раrt оf lіfе. To know more read his book 'A Compendium Of Depression and Anxiety' which is available on Amazon.in.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Mukherjee

Cinema, Art and Lifestyle correspondent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.