Journal logo

TIME IS RUNNING OUT

what would you do?

By Margaret BrennanPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
8

TIME IS RUNNING OUT

What would you do?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~```````~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~```````~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What would you do if you found out your time was running out?

Let’s face it; none of us will live forever. The second we take our first breath out of the womb, our inner clock begins to tick. How long will its battery last?

Not trying to be morbid, but death is part of life. None of us can escape it. How long will our batteries allow us to enjoy that little four-lettered word?

Ah! LIFE!!

It can be fun.

It can be sad.

It can be easy.

It can be hard.

It is what we make it out to be. It’s up to us.

We all have friends or family that have succumbed to an illness. Was that life cut short? Or was that clock predestined to stop at that particular given time?

Those questions are not for us to answer but let’s look at the questions in a different way.

What would you do if you were told you had six months to live?

Hell, you feel healthy! In fact, you feel fantastic! Sick? Oh no, you don’t feel ill at all. So, why then the fatal diagnosis?

While you have your health and stamina, rather than sit and brood, will you enjoy what time you have left?

Will you travel?

Why would you when your life is about to be cut short?

It isn’t about you anymore. It’s about those you leave behind. Look at the fun you’ll have. Look at the memories you’ll be making with your loved ones. They’ll be able to look back at photos and think, “Wow, (name) really knew how to enjoy life – right to the end.” That’s a hell of a great legacy to leave.

Would you begin a diary and document your remaining life for others to know what you’re going through – physically and mentally?

It would be nice to allow others to know how you felt while your time is now limited.

Friends and family will sit with you. “How are you feeling today?” (How the hell do you think I’m feeling?”)

But rather than lash out in anger and frustration at those who love us, I think it would be better to, while you’re still able, jot down your thoughts and emotions so later on, your loved ones can understand.

Do you think you’d tell everyone you know? “Hey, I was just diagnosed with (**) and I’m gonna die.” Don’t know if I’d begin a conversation like that but there are some that might.

I think that as long as I had my wits about me, I’d write a letter to those who are close to my heart and explain. Let them know how I feel emotionally and ask them to respect my privacy and not call until I can my own head wrapped around the diagnosis. A card or letter would be great – just to let me know you care, but please, I’m not ready for phone calls or long personal visits.

But, hey, that’s just me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~```````~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~```````~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If I were placed in that situation (and thankfully I am not there), I’d make sure all my affairs were in order. I would write my letters. Providing I had the funds, I would travel, just short trips, but at least I wouldn’t sit home feeling sorry for myself. Death is hard enough for those who I’d be leaving behind. I would want them to enjoy me while I’m still here.

I would make my wishes for a memorial known to family and close friends. NO crying. Have a party. Celebrate my life. Good or bad, it was MY life and I lived it according to my own will and wits. Laugh at the stupid jokes I used to tell. Read some of my weird and whacky stories and poems.

But never forget, I am always with you, and if you see a shadow floating across the room, don’t freak out or get scared. That’s probably me coming to say hello.

BEFORE ANYONE FREAKS OUT HERE, let me say, I have NOT been diagnosed with anything that’s going to shorten my existence here. I’m going to be around for a long time yet. Is that a good thing? I guess that depends on who you ask but while I’m here, I’ll keep writing things that pull my interest.

Just remember, life is for the living. Go enjoy what you’ve been given. Because you just never know when your internal batteries are going to stop.

Don’t leave others scratching their heads wondering what the heck happened?

Leave fun-filled memories on how you’d like to be remembered.

Be silly.

Dance.

Sing (even if you sing off-key, like I do).

Start a journal, beginning now while you’re still healthy. Write down your thoughts, emotions, things you did today, what you might like to do tomorrow.

Most of all, have fun and smile.

You just never know when your internal clock will stop.

list
8

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • M. Lee3 months ago

    Great advice! I'd probably make the best of life and try to do all the things I've wanted to yet never took the time to do.

  • hassen fraih3 months ago

    good

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.