Journal logo

This Is My Christmas Challenge Number Two, Have You Tried One Yet?

With the help of a friend, what can we come up with that was or is fun at Christmas time?

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 4 min read
3
This Is My Christmas Challenge Number Two, Have You Tried One Yet?
Photo by Long Ma on Unsplash

"To spice up my holiday this year, James and I plan to dress up like Mr. and Mrs. Klaus and go around to houses singing carols. Oh, who am I kidding? I’ll probably fake an illness and stay home to watch cat videos — pure bliss. Plus, no one in their right mind would want to hear either of us sing." This quote is from the Christmas challenger.

No, I don’t have a cute little kitten and I do not crochet decorative cat collars! I could relate to Mr. and Mrs. Klaus above though. I don’t have to fake an illness, I have had side effects from a medication, that have made me sick.

I do like cat videos. We did have a cat for 15 years. Then I developed an allergy to cats and dogs.

My daughter said the allergy was because I took our cat to the vet at Christmas time to be put to sleep and she put a jinx on me so that I could no longer have a kitty or cat. She was mad that she didn’t get to play with the wrapping paper and boxes that come along with Christmas. 😭

BTW: My favorite cat video is on Youtube and is titled — Difference Between Cats & Dogs Teaching Their Young! This is why cats need nine lives!

Hubby and I will agree that our favorite Christmas together was watching grandson Paxton not want to open any presents except a mermaid costume that he wanted but didn’t tell anyone. He said he was going to give back anything that wasn’t that.

We teased him about leaving the presents that he said he wasn’t accepting.

There was a small hole in a package that had his name on it, and he kept trying to make the hole bigger so that he could see what it was. It was a large package, and it wasn’t what he wanted, but he decided he wasn’t giving it back! So entertaining, the big personalities those little ones have!

We still get a chuckle on occasion now that he is 9 years old.

Anyway, back to Christmas and thoughts about spicing up next Christmas.

Next year, I am going to put up our Xmas stockings so that hubby and I can put little things in our stockings for each other. This idea came as we watched a video of two great-granddaughters sharing their stocking items.

I love that as hubby napped, I got to watch Hallmark. It is not like I haven’t watched most of the Hallmark Christmas movies already, but it was somehow special on Christmas, after all our team played football the day before Christmas!

I like not having to cook a big meal or take people out to eat or drive anywhere.

I realized what we did for Christmas some may envy. When talking to a son that had a full house, and appeared to be in awe of our Christmas, and who said, “You are having the best Christmas ever!”

I don’t know if we will ever get the chance to have this Christmas again. We can plan for it and it may never happen again. So, I am enjoying all the quiet time we have had in the last several days.

While others are complaining about the snow, ice, cold, and blowing wind, I am grateful that we have a warm house to be in and food to eat.

Because we were married on December 23, 2004, we have been gone at Christmas for a few years in Texas. We were either with the in-laws or with my brother on Christmas. It was fun, and different without snow.

One year we were accused of bringing snow to Texas. It helped me to see the snowman and the snow on business roofs at the beach! Christmas isn’t Christmas without snow I say!

This year our Thanksgiving with my children was before Thanksgiving and we planned for a Christmas/birthday gathering after Christmas, in January. I love to celebrate my birthday and others the entire month of January!

Our Christmas with hubby’s children is when we get down to where they are living. It means a stop at several places as we no longer all get together. So, Christmas is not one day a year for us but several celebration days.

The pandemic is responsible for some of our being more alone at Christmas and other holidays in the past few years. We don’t let that stop us from celebrating, enjoying each other, and being grateful.

I had lunch with my daughter and a couple of nieces, I had brunch with a sister/friend, talked to my three brothers, have plans with other nieces and a nephew, and good friends to get together in the new year. All fun! And all things I will do again at Christmas!

Make everything fun and happy holidays to all of you!!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

First published by Everything Fun in Medium

feature
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I love the holidays and listening to your sweet stories made me ready for them all over again. Good thing they come every year! A wonderful read :) Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.