Journal logo

The tragedy of the world in tears

Let's just take a moment to appreciate how lucky we all are..................

By Alan RussellPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

This morning, Saturday 11th March 2023, we paid a visit to the nearby cathedral city of Salisbury, distance of 17 miles. We only went for a walk around and to pick up some shopping we had forgotten to put on our delivery order last night.

What we hadn't planned for or could have ever expected for both of us was to be hit in the emotional equivalents of our solar plexuses but hit we were by events in Ukraine 1,582 miles away from our home and something much closer to home that we sadly see everywhere and every day.

The first blow was when we walked on to the market square and saw the sheet steel sculpture mounted on a wooden platform. Take away that platform and the figures silhouetted on top of it would be on the ground the same size as you and me. A mother, a father, a child walking and one in arms holding each other and carrying not their worldly possessions but only carrying what they could as they escape from the battle.

Behind those figures were a couple of stalls selling Ukrainian cakes, pastries, savouries and merchandise carrying the colours of the national flag in various guises. The cakes looked delicious and we saw what we wanted. Just as we were about to ask and pay for them the sharply defined yet hauntingly soft notes plucked from a bandura, a sort of balalaika, floated in the cold winter air. The people of all ages behind the stall stopped serving and started humming. Customers around the stall stopped. Then the singing started. Each note and syllable charged with a fervent passion.

The lightest luggage people fleeing from conflict and disaster is their culture be it written, spoken, sung or baked and sometimes that is all they can escape with.

It may have been a folk song. It may even have been the national anthem. It didn't matter what it was as for that one moment the people singing it were back home and united.

That was when we both had the second blow to our solar plexuses. That was when we both felt lips quivering and our eyes moisten.

We bought our chosen cakes and wished the lady who served us "well".

A few yards away from the stall we went through a narrow passage. Sitting in a doorway was a lady with a sleeping bag wrapped around her legs and a tightly packed backpack beside her. We all had eye contact and we said "hello". Within a few strides towards where we were going to have some lunch I had made a decision. I was going to go back to her and ask her if she would like a drink. I told my wife and she went on ahead into the café.

When I got back to her I sat beside her and asked if she wanted a drink.

"No thank love...someone has just gone to get me one."

We made small talk and then I asked the question.

"How on earth have you ended up here? I hope you don't mind me asking?"

"No, of course I don't. I was living with my father up until a year ago until he passed away...but because the tenancy was in his name..."

"Was it a farm?" I asked because she looked like she was used to the farming life.

"No, just a house but because I wasn't on the tenancy agreement I was eventually evicted. No where to go except for the streets and when I can...the homeless shelter around the corner."

From where I was sitting I was aware of just seeing shoes, boots, trousers and legs. No faces. No eyes. No smiles.

"How do you spend your time?"

"Oh, the weeks aren't too bad...I have a few appointments to go to...I'm not an addict or an alchie...but the weekends can be difficult...especially this one as the homeless shelter is closed today...they haven't got any food. Might be open tomorrow...we'll see...because I'm not an addict o."r alchie I'm low priority for accommodation that is somewhere permanent. Doesn't seem fair really."

I asked how she had kept going and was so cheerful.

"It's the people. People like you who stop and talk. That's what keeps me going. If it wasn't for them and you I don't know where I'd be today if anywhere."

Her face was about to break into tears but she held them back and forced a smile.

"No point in being miserable is there? One day I'll have a place...one day."

I got up to leave and thanked her.

"God bless you love."

When we stepped out of the café after our lunch I looked across to where the lady was sitting. She was still there and there were a few people talking to her. I saw a hand stretching down to her. Hopefully it was offering som money so that she could at least get a hot meal tonight.

feature
Like

About the Creator

Alan Russell

When you read my words they may not be perfect but I hope they:

1. Engage you

2. Entertain you

3. At least make you smile (Omar's Diaries) or

4. Think about this crazy world we live in and

5. Never accept anything at face value

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.