Journal logo

The Skincare Fridge

I finally got something I always wanted but...

By Arneisha Manning Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Skincare Fridge
Photo by Park Street on Unsplash

It’s another boring Sunday morning as usual. I wake up and proceed to grab my phone as soon as my eyes sprung open. I got a few good choices to choose from YouTube, Twitter, Facebook, or TikTok, obviously I had to choose TikTok. The constant non-stop scrolling of videos I don’t have to look up myself and click on, you just can’t say no to that. However, I do find myself telling myself “no” to all the “Amazon Must Haves” on TikTok. It’s like a catalog for Amazon but in mini videos. Did I really need to buy a pink trash can for my car when the little plastic bag from the grocery store hanging on my shift stick; works perfectly fine? Probably not but hey it was just so freaking cute how could I not get it! These videos are so hard not to pass but somehow I just say no...but it’s really just because my bank account says it first.

One day when I was scrolling on Tik Tok I came across a “Skincare fridge.”I've seen them before, but something about this time made me really want one. I would usually put my face masks in the regular fridge but, the trip from my room to the kitchen can be a little annoying. So why not dedicate a mini fridge to my skincare. They deserve it! My skin is literally glowing because of it. It’s just something about applying chilled skincare onto freshly cleansed skin; that makes me feel like the girl off the peppermint patty commercial. There are so many good benefits that come from keeping your skincare cool. Such as;helping to constrict blood vessels, making your skin even more firm and tight. The major plus; your skin care lasts much longer too.

This tik tok pretty much sold it for me. So I got on google to look at the brand I saw on the TikTok video… $150 for a tiny fridge. I wanted it so bad that I even watched a couple of YouTube videos on it, but $150 was way too much for me. I was already skipping Starbucks to pay my Spotify bill every month, and I couldn’t have 2 luxuries; I knew a 3rd was out of the options. I would just have to stick to walking into the kitchen to grab my products out the fridge.

Every time I got on my Facebook to check to see what my family or the very few old classmates from high school “friends” I barely talk to in person but somehow we’re friends on Facebook were up too. I would run across multiple ads about skin care fridges and how they’re so great with all the 5 star reviews. I always found it weird how Facebook knew every single thing I wanted before I even wanted it, they’re quicker than Amazon prime… Which is where I would end up using after all the pure pressure. I found a decent cheap skincare fridge on Amazon for like $25. It was a decent start. No, it wasn’t the perfect fancy one I saw off TikTok for $150; but it was close enough. It honestly reminded me of my childhood, when I couldn’t get the Fruit Loops I wanted so I just settled for the Fruit Circles. Same thing, different name; one just cost a little more. Well in this case, a lot, more.

Luckily with prime shipping it was here in less than 2 days. I was so excited! I finally treated myself to something nice.I’ve been wanting, and I was proud of it. Nothing wrong with spoiling yourself. I think I deserved it. I had really wanted a pink one, but all they had was black. Which was fine with me because it went with my room. I plugged it up and threw in all my skincare products I could fit in it. Which wasn’t much because the fridge was a little tiny for my liking, but at least I was able to put some in there. I waited a couple of hours and did my face routine; which starts off by washing my face with a cleaning foam accompanied by a wash off clay mask. I then applied my cream and jade roller onto my face. However, my skincare products weren’t that cold; it was just a cool feeling.

Even the jade roller just had a cool feeling to it. I was a little disappointed because, I did want the fridge to be a little bit more colder but the fridge only had two settings. Which were just ON and OFF. At first I was really disappointed and wished I would’ve just saved but for the fancy $150 one with the multiple settings. However, I was still very happy that I got something I really wanted and even though it was a bit disappointing. It does keep it somewhat cool for me. Next time I’ll know to just fully treat myself and get the one I really wanted, because I deserve it just like anyone else who wants to treat themselves to something they’ve always wanted.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Arneisha Manning

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.