Journal logo

The Real Buried Treasure

The real treasure to an archaeologist lies in the history. The true treasure is knowledge.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Working during a hurricane in East texas 2020

I love my job because it aims to give a voice to the voiceless. By profession I am an archaeologist, and I chose this profession for a number of reasons. First and foremost is my appreciation for history and culture. Not the narrative of history as we know it, but the everchanging and growing knowledge of the past. I can find appreciation for ancient civilizations because we all have something to learn from every single one of them. Even the ones we don’t see eye to eye with. We have a choice to learn from our past mistakes or crumble under the failures of our ambitions.

As a cultural resource management archaeologist technician, I travel to areas in need of pedestrian surveying or testing. We record archaeological sites and data to be preserved in our reports and we provide the government with this information. It's an amazing thing holding an artifact in your hand and knowing its thousands of years old. The weight of that realization is heavy. We try to do right by cultures and history. We often work with indigenous tribe members of the surrounding area to make sure we are respectful of their ancestors.

Why do I love my job so much? Because of the untold story that is behind every artifact found. That was someone's’ possession, their hard work or their weapon. To think that someone stood there, thousands of years ago doing whatever they could to survive just like me. That’s the real beauty of archaeology and history. It gives you a chance to be thrust into the shoes of another human being. Someone who you can only relate to the very basics of human nature. We loved, we felt fear, and we did what was necessary to survive. History often buries those who had their flames extinguished, but archaeology strives to give that light back.

Me and My boss's joke photo at the end of the day dec 2020

Another benefit of archaeology is the traveling aspect. I've been to many amazing places for work and school. In college I was able to work in Belize for the summer, and learn all about the Mayan culture first hand. To work side by side with the Mayan people of Belize was unbelievable and an eye-opening experience. I have worked throughout the southwestern United states and been privy to scenery most never see in their entire lifetime. Sometimes I even get to be on a boat for the day on surrounding lakes.

I love being able to immerse myself into different spheres of life, culture and the world around me. It takes me out of my own head and my own life. I get to experience cultures on their terms, and not mine. Tasting foods that I normally don’t eat, participating in festivals and understanding their values. For one moment at a time, I am part of a world bigger than myself and my culture. I am privileged to relate to other human beings universally. After all we are all human regardless of where we come from or how we look. That’s the most important lesson that I want to remind others of.

Im on a boat! 2020, East texas lakes

The things that make us different are miniscule compared to what make us similar. We all live, feel and struggle. I have no right to judge someone different than me when I seem weird to them as well. Archaeology and Anthropology try to form the gap to that bridge of understanding.

At the end of the day, I may never fathom the story that I hold in my hands. I can only try to breathe life into it using the environment at hand and the history at our disposal. They were humans just like us. They loved, they hated, and they all struggled. Their story is just as important as anyone's and everyone deserves a platform to be heard. The dead speak in whispers, but if we listen closely, we can hear their booming voices.

workflow
5

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.