Journal logo

The Lady With The Ice Cream

I Almost Threw An Ice Cream At Her Head

By Danielle ClearyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was about 3 months after I started working at the most popular ice cream parlour in the village, it was a hot bank holiday and I was tired, hungry and ready to go home. It was only 2:30pm and I'd was working an 11am-5pm shift.

The queue ran to the street and curved arond to the pathway, but as fast as I was serving ice cream 5 more people added to the line. Now if you've ever worked in an ice cream parlour you'll know, if you're by yourself, you can't stop to refill the tubs, unless someone wants the flavour bad enough to wait for it. At this specific point in time I was out of Mango, Strawberry and Salted Caramel.

So this lady (who I hate to say it, but LOOKED like a Karen) comes up to the window with her son who had to be around 9 years old. The son said he would like mango ice cream because thats all he liked the sound of, I had just ran out of that so I said "I'm really sorry I'm all out of the mango but if you'd like I can open a new tub, it will be about 2 minutes though, if that's okay?"

She says AND I QUOTE "That's fine we can wait". I walk away from the window to get the ice cream and seconds after I get to the freezer I hear her shout out to me "How much longer is this going to take?"

I walked away from what I was doing, smiled and said, "It'll be a second while I switch out the tubs." She said nothing just smiled and nodded. You know that snotty smile that you give someone who's being rude. With gritted teeth I walked away and continued sorting out the tub. After 1 minute at the most I walked back to them with the ice cream in hand.

Then, once again with a VERY snotty smile she says ,"He doesn't want that anymore, he wants the strawberry."

I smiled through gritted teeth and told her, "I'm out of strawberry as well, if you're willing to wait I can open a new tub for you?" She says NOTHING and just gives me the same, damn, smile. This time I make it over to the freezer and back without her saying a word (miracles do happen).

When I return she looks at me with the NASTIEST smile ever and says, "He changed his mind... He wants the mango now." At this stage most people will say "I'd have left her, I'd have told her to leave" the list goes on but I was always told that the customer is right and do whatever you can to make them happy.

I pause to look up at the queue and at this point it is so long I can't see the end of it anymore, but persisting I go back over and scoop up the mango once again. All while swearing under my breath, but, still I was good I did as was asked. I walked back over and this, HUMAN had the AUDACITY, to smile and say "He wants a Mr.Whippy now." I nearly threw the ice cream at her I was so mad.

Now at this point I'd been with her for almost 3 whole minutes and normally I can serve 4 people in that time. So I (not caring at this stage) VISIBLY roll my eyes and say "Sure!" In the most upbeat voice I could muster.

I pick up a cone, I grab the handle, I start pulling it down and this THING squeals at me "He doesn't want an ice cream anymore." AND I WATCHED THEM WALK AWAY, along with everyone else in the queue.

I have never EVER been so ANGRY in my life. So many people left the queue and everyone who was behind her apologised to me for HER behaviour. I think that is one of my most infuriating storys ever.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Danielle Cleary

I live in the most touristy town you can think of. I have worked MULTIPLE jobs all interacting with the general public. My life is also downright hectic. So here are my stories that cover the whole specrum of weird and crazy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.