Journal logo

The Joys of packing

The "Here's Johnny" version of a deranged landlord.

By TheJuZShoWPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Ah, yes. That time again. After all that house hunting you’re approved to move! There is so much psychology in everything we do. As humans we process change whether we like it or not. It’s a hard kind of process. But you just get in there and do it. You let go of the past, you let go of attachments and in the present all you want to do is get it over and done with!

When I found out I was moving it was understandably a shock. Woah! I gotta start my life all over again! The longest time I spent living alone in one place was seven years. Seven years of not having to or wanting to leave. Seven years of achievements. Seven years that also include pure insanity at times. One thing I learnt is that every move seems to feel different. The energy of the rooms in the house you are currently in suddenly change and feel strange. Like there is no honey moon period anymore. I have been living in this place for a year and sometimes it still feels like I have just got settled in. But on and off it is not the same feeling it used to bring.

Far out I have story to tell you. It just might shock you also...but...Maybe not...Everyone relates and reacts differently. But the start of this blog I... felt I should get to the point.

In the early 2010s I was going through yet again another break up. I lived with mum for short while, then lived with a controlling housemate for 11 months. Later on I ended up in the loverly old two bedroom cottage house. It was kind of falling down. It needed re stumping, toilet kept on blocking and there was one time where the roof almost caved in in the living room while I was sleeping in the next room. It needed a lot of work. But the rent was cheep, had a decent bathtub and great backyard.

Anyway this place ended up getting sold while I was living in it. I was luckily enough to have an investor buy the property and allow me to stay without raising the rent. Everything seemed to had go back to normal.

One day an old man shows up at my door out of the blue. Unannounced. Not really telling me who he is. I had learnt a lot about him. He had a daughter who was around my age who was dating a drug addict. He knew 4 langauges and Owned seven properties. After his second random visit to my door I found out that he owned the old house I was living in at the time.

Here is where it gets rather interesting. I am busy minding my own business, not really doing much and I had to go and use the toilet. Now the toilet is located at the end of the laundary so I had to pass the laundary to get there. I look out of the window as I was passing buy and there he was making himself at home in my shed. I thought that this would be temporary until he has a spare place to stay. But I thought it was intriguingly weird. He ended up having a bed, a fridge and even got his own dinning room table and chair. Everytime I looked he as just either sitting there or sitting on one of my back porch chairs. Being the kind person I am it was a very hot time of the year. I felt bad for him being out there in the heat and felt bad for him seeing as he didn’t seem to have any basic food to eat. So I decided to help him out. I let him in while I was there to keep cool. I even bought him some groceries. But he was very ill. He was telling me stories of how he went to the grocery store and said that two women were poisoning his food when he went shopping. He also told me stories about how getting poisoned was why he was shaky with delirium tremors. When I bought him 60 bucks worth of fresh food I got him he threw it out. He was so crazy and paranoid that during my time of being under his cloud he had switched 5 real estate agents and is now selling the house that I have now been in for a year, which is the reason why I had to move.

There are so many things you can choose in your life. You cannot choose your family or the people you work with. You cannot choose your landlord. In Australia by law the landlord is not to be anywhere near the tenant or the house during their tenancy. I did not take legal action because I was afraid of what this guy was going to do. He was the owner of my houses. I felt like he had power because of this. In the beginning he was really nice to me. When I moved into this place he bought this place for me to rent in. Now I am being thrown under the bus. But now he knows I am moving it is huge **** you to him. Not only I am packing up my life. But I am packing up and letting go of the emotional drama from this too. I now understand that despite his mental illness what he was doing was wrong. The new place is going to be awesome. I am with a more reliable owner. The space is beautiful and by the time this process is over I will be able to get more stability. I eye off this new place with sobering love.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

TheJuZShoW

Hi, I'm JuZ. I write music and work very hard at my day job. I am in my late 30s, single and own a cat. I am a Goth and I am quite friendly!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.