Journal logo

The Joy and Pain of Novel Writing

Tips to writing historical fiction

By compassion24Published 3 years ago 4 min read
3

I look up from my computer it is 1100. I have been here since 0900, shuffling through papers, researching this point or that, and I have precisely a paragraph written. I go and pour more coffee, then I am back staring at the screen blankly. The life of a writer.

Writing historical fiction is not for the faint of heart. So many research points have to go into it to be as accurate as possible. I find myself often wandering, waxing and waning in and out of internet search engines, hoping to uncover some lesser known fact that I can weave into the character story to make them true to form with the surrounding events as they unfolded. I have a set of books that speak on the subject, and I rifle through those laboriously, reading each line, attempting to find my information.

Some things I have noticed I want to share, so that people can have the best experience and write the best they can . I am not an expert, since I am just starting out on this journey, but nevertheless, I would like to contribute to the assistance of building good writers.

Build your space.

I started out in my bedroom, television on , I comfortable in bed. My books were strewn all over the place, and I had 2 computers open. It is a king size bed, but my other half could barely squeeze in. I realized that all of this was just too much and built a library in my loft. I now have all my reference materials, computers and anything I need in one place.

The "writers paradise",as I call it, must be a comfortable area with limited distractions. Building your writing space with all the necessary items, such as near an outlet, away from the music room, or teenagers area. Make it functional, with what you need. A tablet for jotting down notes, pencils, erasers, and a pencil sharpener. It is always horrible when you have an idea and then have a broken pencil. Make it a space you love, not a space you dread to go. Have flowers, pictures, trinkets, or good luck charms. Make sure you have a good temperature, or a nice blanket available if you get cold. Have some healthy snacks to cut down on binge eating, which I tended too often to do.

Set your Times

If you have another job in addition to writing, time can be your worst enemy. All of sudden, you realize a few days have gone by and you have yet to grace your writers paradise. You forget where you left off and have to re-read. Then you realize another research question. Before you know it, it is time for bed, or work. It is a good idea to set or schedule your writing time. Treat it as a job you clock in and out of.

Proof as you go

As you are stopping and starting it is best to correct grammar and proofread every page as you go. Did the sentence make sense and have the correct tone? Did the page flow well, and did it set up the next paragraph or text? Ensuring every page meets specifications will help save time later.

Books

Along with your space, you will need a compliment of books and resources on the subject. Internet can be dodgy, if you do not have good sources. It may be easy to just look things up on Wikipedia, but remember that that is never considered a reliable reference, as anyone can write and edit. Reference books and expert guidance on your subject in historical fiction is essential to accuracy. Accuracy is essential to historical fiction in my book, so reference material is needed. Libraries can be good sources to check out books, of course purchasing to your door is delightful.

Make Some Connections

Whatever Genre you are writing, make some good connections. Email those authors, follow them on social media. You would be surprised that sometimes they answer back. As we have been hampered in 2020, and now into 2021 with networking in person, we must look to alternative ways on knowing one another. Research publishing companies and add them on social media, so you can see the ebb and flow of what is popular, as well as how to navigate once you are looking at publication.

I hope that some of these guidelines will assist you in your quest and journey in writing. I once again retire to the intricacies of the printed word.

how to
3

About the Creator

compassion24

Compassionate about people, processes and the human rights of others. I look for the good in people and my glass is half full, whether I fill it or someone else does. I hold a Doctoral degree in healthcare, and am a freelance writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.