Journal logo

The Inner Self

A Reflection on Beauty

By Paolo AngeloPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like

Sometimes I wonder what makes a person beautiful. Is it their appearance, their personality, their achievements, their talents? Or is it something deeper, something that transcends the superficial and the external?

I believe that beauty is not something that can be measured by standards or criteria. Beauty is not something that can be seen by the eyes or heard by the ears. Beauty is something that can only be felt by the heart and the soul.

Beauty is the inner self of an individual, the essence of who they are and what they stand for. Beauty is the kindness they show to others, the compassion they have for the suffering, the courage they display in the face of adversity. Beauty is the joy they radiate, the love they share, the hope they inspire.

Beauty is not something that can be acquired or lost. Beauty is not something that can be diminished or enhanced by external factors. Beauty is something that is inherent and intrinsic to every human being. Beauty is something that we all possess and we all deserve.

I want to appreciate the beauty within myself and others. I want to look beyond the surface and see the depth and richness of each person's inner self. I want to celebrate the diversity and uniqueness of each person's beauty. I want to be beautiful in my own way and let others be beautiful in theirs.

But how do I do that? How do I recognize and embrace the beauty within me? How do I express and share the beauty within me? How do I acknowledge and appreciate the beauty within others? How do I foster and nurture the beauty within others?

I think the first step is to be aware of my own inner self. To listen to my thoughts and feelings, to understand my values and beliefs, to discover my passions and dreams. To be honest with myself, to accept myself, to love myself. To be proud of who I am and what I have done, to be humble of who I am and what I can do, to be hopeful of who I can be and what I can achieve.

The second step is to be creative with my own inner self. To explore my interests and hobbies, to develop my skills and talents, to pursue my goals and aspirations. To express myself through words and actions, through art and music, through humor and wit. To challenge myself with new experiences and opportunities, to learn from my mistakes and failures, to grow from my feedback and criticism.

The third step is to be generous with my own inner self. To share my thoughts and feelings, my values and beliefs, my passions and dreams with others. To offer my help and support, my empathy and sympathy, my gratitude and appreciation to others. To give my time and attention, my energy and effort, my respect and trust to others.

The fourth step is to be curious about the inner selves of others. To listen to their stories and perspectives, to understand their motivations and intentions, to discover their strengths and weaknesses. To be open-minded with them, to accept them, to love them. To be interested in who they are and what they have done, who they are and what they can do, who they can be and what they can achieve.

The fifth step is to be supportive of the inner selves of others. To encourage their interests and hobbies, their skills and talents, their goals and aspirations. To appreciate their expressions through words and actions, through art and music, through humor and wit. To motivate them with positive feedback and praise, to help them overcome challenges and difficulties, to celebrate their successes and accomplishments.

The sixth step is to be respectful of the inner selves of others. To acknowledge their thoughts and feelings, their values and beliefs, their passions and dreams. To honor their choices and decisions, their rights and responsibilities, their boundaries and preferences. To trust their honesty and integrity, their loyalty and fidelity, their sincerity and authenticity.
These are the steps that I try to follow in order to appreciate the beauty within myself and others. I know that it is not easy, that it takes time and effort, that it requires patience and perseverance, that it involves mistakes and failures. But I also know that it is worth it, that it brings happiness and fulfillment, that it creates harmony and peace, that it makes a difference and an impact.

I hope that you, whoever you are, whoever reads this journal entry, will also try to appreciate the beauty within yourself and others. I hope that you will find your own way of recognizing and embracing, of expressing and sharing, of acknowledging and appreciating, of fostering and nurturing, the beauty within yourself and others. I hope that you will be beautiful in your own way and let others be beautiful in theirs.

quotesadvice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.