Journal logo

The Inconsistencies of Creativity

Since the end of last year and the beginning of 2018, I’ve tried my hand at freelance writing.

By Sydney LovellPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

See, I’ve always been a writer. Since I was little and all throughout school, I could write my way through any essay, short story or book report. And have always viewed it as being enjoyable instead of tasking. Writing has unfailingly been a passion of mine, and that passion has only grown as I’ve gotten older. When you’re young, passion and creativity seem never ending. But when you try to make a living off that passion, you soon realize that creativity comes in inconsistent waves. Even when you’re doing what you love, that inconsistency can often leave you frustrated and feeling like a failure.

Being a writer looking for success, I try publishing my work online as consistently as possible. The problem comes when my publishing schedule doesn’t match up with the consistency of my creativity. I think most adults can relate to the dread of deadlines, but it can be especially difficult when you become your own boss and suddenly all the work you do is self-assigned. Therefore, leaving only your mind and your fingers to do the work for you. When a block in creativity suddenly hits, there’s nowhere for you to go. Frustration hits even harder when the only thing that can be done is to sit around until something finally comes to you. Writing can be a bit like tending to a garden. You show it love from time to time and then hopefully get something beautiful out of it. However, it’s also a lot like gardening for the fact that you mostly just need time, and a lot of patience. Regardless, punctuality and profitability too often muddle with the prospects of both time and patience.

Most creatives have a certain way of finding inspiration, therefore regaining their creativity. However, my way of getting over writer's block with one piece I’m writing is to start working on another. Which you can probably guess brings on its own set of challenges, especially when that means having two unfinished articles staring back at you. Though I’ve realized, frustration can be great source material if you know how to use it properly. Hence, this article. I find it therapeutic to write about your struggles, and more often than not you’ll meet a whole slew of people who can relate to exactly what you’re going through. This support and community is often an even greater source of inspiration. The people I’ve met through my writing so far are some of the biggest pioneers of my motivation, even if they don’t realize it.

Though creativity will usually meet you halfway, I’ve learned that it sometimes takes quite a bit of traversing to get there. Many times you won’t find it, but it’s the willingness to continue to climb that mountain that leads you to sudden and unexpected victory. But when trying to make a living and not getting the results you wish for, it makes climbing that mountain reasonably more taxing. Although the satisfaction and relief of reaching the top is enough to fuel the fire to keep doing what you love. The feeling of finally finishing a piece you’ve dwelled on for so long is one of pure triumph. And to be honest, not many other feelings compare to putting a piece of yourself out into the world for everyone to see. Being a writer has its ups and downs. But no matter what, I’m glad to be able to say that I contributed my voice to the ever growing community of raconteurs.

workflow
1

About the Creator

Sydney Lovell

Freelance writer of short stories, articles, opinion pieces, and personal essays. I mostly cover topics relating to chronic illness, mental health, LGBTQ+ themes, and women's issues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.