Journal logo

The Guide to Your Creative Side

Introduction to My DIY Pages

By Meg BarbeauPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm not going to lie: I found this website out of sheer desperation.

I thought I had two different jobs in the bag for this summer; bombed one interview, and didn't get the other job I had applied for and so desperately wanted. I work in the field of the arts (acting, visual art, dance, etc.), so jobs are hard to come by, but I didn't think that I would be one out of four months into my summer jobless, heading for broke, and so desperate that I needed to blog on the internet.

To be honest, I thought blogging died.

I’m not normally the person to rant to strangers, but I saw opportunity and a way to express myself in this site. I thought: what if I could produce content that not only brings a smile to people’s faces and brightness to their day, but something that would greatly interest me, and still keep me in touch with my creative side?

So, I created this: The Guide to Your Creative Side!

I am a very creative person when it comes to anything artsy, so most of the content I will be producing might be DIY's, tips to embrace your creativity, and so much more. I am also a very over the top, perfectionist kind of person, so everything I produce will have a guarantee of sheer elegance, and/or amusing content.

I guess you can say my goal is to introduce creativity into the lives of others.

Just so you get to know me a little bit: I am such a creative person. You give me anything artsy to do, and I will do it very well (except drawing, but even that’s coming along). I grew up a dancer, I go to college for Musical Theatre, so I dabble in the singing and acting as well, and I am a choreographer, film crew, editor, and manager for my friend’s Youtube channel (check out her channel: Jokat on Youtube [subscribe while you’re there :P]). I dabble in everything, and I figured I might as well try writing. One more thing to check off, right?

I write on occasion. I haven’t in a while, though. I used to only write fanfiction (ahh the pre-teen years), but I have grown, and I’ve dabbled in writing here and there. I normally just rant and edit my rant (edit: I’ve done that with this piece), because most of the writing assets I have are from High School English class.

And yes, I will still be looking for a cashier job at some random grocery store because they always hire and I am qualified, but I want more out of my summer, and my life than a minimum wage job that will lead to nowhere. I want to produce content that I will enjoy, and that all of you will as well.

So without further ado: here is what you will find from me!

  1. Creative content posted minimum thre to four times a week (or more if I feel like it)
  2. Any/Everything arts and craft, home decor, and/or event planning
  3. General Tips and Tricks to introduce a bit of Creativity and Personality into your work/school/home life
  4. Very aesthetic results <3

As this is a new site/tool for me it will take some getting used to, but hopefully as I continue to face the fact that technology will continue to stump me and freak me out, I can produce helpful content to make your days brighter, and more colourful.

So stay tuned for the first installment of:

The Guide to Your Creative Side!

And I’ll catch you in my next post,

Meg

art
Like

About the Creator

Meg Barbeau

Creative Person | DIY Lover | Broke AF

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.