Journal logo

The great divide

Cultures and acceptance

By Sarah urfferPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 10 min read
2
The great divide
Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

it’s been very frustrating in the last several years watching the world who wanted nothing but to be connected with each other now seek to divide. We talk about culture appropriation, racism, and privilege. A lot of people are making this white thing as if the color of your skin makes any difference in any of this. And I know some of you just read that and felt offended and thought to yourself oh this is someone speaking who is privileged. And that there is a problem you speak it not realizing you yourself are it as well. Most people don’t realize that they’re living in the same boat as those they’re pointing the finger at. Every single culture every single color of skin has been at the downside of others at one point or another. You are all victim blaming and you cannot seem to move past and create a better future with this connection we all have now that we never had before.

By Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona on Unsplash

We live in this world with so much technology Internet at our fingertips no matter where we’re at as long as it’s not a dead zone. Even those people who struggle to get by make sure they have someway to connect to the Internet to connect to the world. We as people have always sought to explore to get to know what we do not know to embrace something we enjoy and find pleasure in. We talk about white privilege and black rights. But we don’t talk about the truth that’s been right in front of us. We sit here wanting to point fingers and people who had nothing to do with any of it. In my eyes people look at me a super pale ginger and call me a privileged white American. As if somehow I’m better off than an Asian American or a black American or an Indian American or a Native American etc. but I am not I have had quite a struggle and I in no way was given anything on a silver platter. I didn’t get help going to college not even from my parents. And I am currently still in debt from that college. It’s easy to look at someone and not recognize the struggles they went through. And it’s easy to look back and say to somebody you don’t know what it’s like. And then they talk about privilege. I took this excerpt from a Ted talk that was shared on culture appropriation.

By Raimond Klavins on Unsplash

“Khan clarifies, “Privilege isn’t about what you’ve gone through; it’s about what you haven’t had to go through.””

This says it all it’s not about what you’ve gone through but what you didn’t. So you look at this other “culture” this other Ethnicity and you think to yourself “they don’t know what it’s like, they can’t understand.” But that it itself is your privilege because you’re failing to see that they to I have struggled. I bring up that I’m ginger red hair tons of freckles and pale reflective white skin. Extremely blinding in the sunlight for others. To an outsiders perspective I’m just another white person. But I’m sure as you all know gingers don’t get a lot of love even from the white community. Maybe it’s jealousy because they like the color of the hair but for me it was like they were being racist against gingers. I always thought they should make gingers a race but that’s silly because it’ll never happen because we’re still white. Sometimes being called ginger is like a derogatory slur kind of like the black community And other races feel When people use slurs in reference to them.

By Valeria Smirnova on Unsplash

I bring this up because there is a lot of hate for gingers all over the world, much like what you’re saying other skin colors are going through. But you were also sitting there hating what is different than you. why are you hating on the white community which isn’t just American. I admit there is a bunch of miscommunication that has happened because of our government. We are a melting pot of cultures of different races of different skin colors. I am Polish, Canadian, French, British, Russian, Swedish, Norwegian, Irish, Jewish, German, but I am also just a ginger. I am just another white American who is said to be privileged, like I don’t understand adversity, like I don’t understand what struggle is like in the eyes of those pointing fingers.

By Andrew Coop on Unsplash

I challenge everyone to look inside themselves and ask themselves what is it that you really dislike about this other culture this other nationality this other skin color what is it that’s driving you to feel distain for them. We are not all the same not all white people hate other cultures and are racist and some things that you read into being racist we’re not meant to seem racist. this goes both ways this door is oscillating, we are not just our skin colors or cultures We are humans Who are sometimes blind to their own downfalls. If you do not want to be treated wrongly don’t treat others wrongly don’t make assumptions about others that you don’t know.

No one is really at fault here on any side everybody just wants respect and respect goes both ways. I truly wish there was a way that we could just get a fresh start and with all the knowledge that we have gained do better with it. If you want to be excepted except others even if their views don’t match yours. Something is always going to be said that’ll offend somebody else but that is not always the intent that was meant. Yeah I do agree some people seek to offend people Regardless of their color or nationality or cultural and religious preference. There’s always going to be some sort of judgment because apparently you are all really judgy. At some point we need to leave the past in the past I did not in slave your people just like you did not enslave my people. And yes I’m ginger we were also slaves. In fact the Irish were treated like black slaves But we weren’t seen as valuable when it was happening. But it doesn’t change that the treatment was equally bad. Slavery is not OK treating people badly is not OK. Demeaning peoples culture demeaning peoples spirits it’s not something that’s becoming of a world who wants to be connected. It’s not becoming of a good future where change can be a positive thing. Finding offense in everything won’t make a better future either. We cannot Nerf the world and yes some peoples minds are hard to change. But let’s give them a reason to change instead of following their hate with more hate follow it with love help them understand why they’re wrong. Pushing more of the same stuff back out them won’t change an outcome you’re just changing the narrative. This even goes with the women versus men which has bothered me beyond belief even though I’ve been at the downside of men sick men. I understand that men have also been at the downside of sick women. Women can be just as much the villain as the man and it’s sickening for people to not understand that and to put more pressure on men and vice versa.

By Katie Moum on Unsplash

I know this has become quite a lengthy post And I’m sure my grammar and spelling is not the best because I was never my strong suit and I am one of the poor people in this American culture who apparently is privileged. And when people look at me and think I’m privileged I wish they could hear I’m so privileged to have gone through all the horrors that I have unfortunately had to deal with. I’m so privileged to not be comfortable in bracing femininity due to the events that I’ve grown up with the privilege I had of being miss treated and abused and taken advantage of. The struggle I’ve gone through to stay positive to try to keep going in such adversity. Yep people will look at me and my white pale skin and say you are privileged you don’t know what it’s like to be looked down upon to be treated badly. It is so easy for someone who does not know your truth to judge you and think less of you because they think you did not go through a struggle like them. As if you were given a silver plate and said here is your wonderful life you are greater well I have to say that I did not have that just like many people didn’t have that. Our culture and your culture are the same. Some people in every culture live on the high end and there is always a lower end Failing to do that is disrespectful to both sides and will never come to a positive outcome until you all wake up and see the truth that we are all struggling just the same in a world of a greedy overbearing government that higher percentage of people who want to control the lesser people those people being us The one struggling the ones pushing so hard to try to hang on. The ones so scared of life That don’t want to die and or are trying to find a reason not to kill themselves. So is anybody sits there looking at any other nationality any other culture any other race we are all the same. I really truly want better for this world I want better for the people in this world I also want better for the planet and for all the other creatures we live with and refuse to care for. What will you do to better the world what will you do to better yourself to not succumb to the darkness that’s trying to envelope us.

By Clay Banks on Unsplash

We all need love we all want acceptance let’s embrace it and share it with the world dispute any hate we may experience. We can heal this broken world together and broken spirits of those who are displaying hate because they too are suffering or else they wouldn’t be portraying so much hate.

By Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Notes: I’ve never been really one to write about any of this for sometime I’ve bit my tongue for years ever since high school because I didn’t feel it make any difference or that I thought I would be offending somebody but in a world now that’s offended by every single thing I can’t keep quiet. The blindness everybody lacks to see on both sides has gotten out of control. And when I say both sides I’m referring to a broad spectrum. Be at race ethnicity religion men versus women gay versus straight. Everybody wants love and acceptance and I am not sitting here judging anybody except for the fact that you guys are all judging each other and I’m sick of people not seeing that you are all doing the same thing that you’re asking the others to not do. We need to embrace our differences but we also need to recognize how completely the same we are in our differences. I really hope I didn’t offend anybody here but I’m sure there’s bound to be somebody offended. I honestly love all of you people I don’t know you I may never know you but I hope you all find happiness in your lives this is all things deserve happiness. Everybody deserves another chance because in someway or another they feel they’re not being heard they’re not being understood they’re not being taken into consideration. And a lot of times it’s because they didn’t understand the words or intentions of others that may have made them feel a certain way. Communication is an interesting thing because we cannot mind read we don’t always know The intent of others for the lack of intent for that matter. Even in this divided Covid world I hope people can learn to understand personal choice is personal and just like nobody wants to be controlled into doing some thing that feels against themselves that needs to be respected even if it goes against your own personal belief if you want respect and some thing you have that’s different than others then you need to give the same in return. Stay safe and be well and I hope all of you enjoyed this read and again I apologize for my really bad grammar punctuation at all because honestly it’s too taxing for me to go through all of this trying to find what’s wrong because there’s always gonna be some thing I miss I hope you’re able to get through it and just read it. Maybe think of it as a fine example of a different culture the one that doesn’t care about proper English grammar because again we are all man and all of this is made up. It’s sort of wonderful how we even have a language and it’s still silly how people are as they say “grammar Nazis”.

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

humanity
2

About the Creator

Sarah urffer

Let words find you with a fun and playful creativeness.

I have some older works I’ll be adding including new creations as well. I do hope you enjoy them. I wish there was a feedback section 😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.