Journal logo

The Five Important Reasons This Article Will Get A Million Reads

By Jason Morton

By Jason Ray Morton Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
14
The Five Important Reasons This Article Will Get A Million Reads
Photo by Pepi Stojanovski on Unsplash

Reason #1

What's the best thing that you'll read in this article. Well, it might be advice that will help you raise your reads, it might be advice that'll help you to write better pieces, or it might be a path to drawing in more readers. Either way, the advice of someone that's working the same platform as you are is invaluable. When it comes to success, it's our fellow writers, and the ones that we look up to, that will get us to where we want to be. Well, that and some hard work and sacrifice.

When I wrote this I had just learned how to target an article at a specific audience. Since then I've learned a few other tricks, including a much better understanding of SEO (Which I'm still learning) and how to check what's trending. Both of these are key points for a writer creating content online if they hope to make an eventual income. This article, on vocal, was hearted 140 times and read more than 500 times. My first successfully targeted article received more than 3400 reads in just two weekends using the ideas expounded on in the above article.

There are seven things that I've been working on to make both my fiction and non-fiction work better, more well-received, and get my read counts to grow. I've been using the seven tips on both Medium and Vocal. I've doubled my 30 days read count, which sat around 600 since I started on Medium, to over 1200 in just 3 weeks.

1. Write Daily

2. Write Focused

3. Write What You Know

4. Write What's Trending

5. Promote Your Work

6. Engage With Your Fellow Creators

7. Make Sure You Use Catchy Images

Using these seven tips, I've slowly started pulling my reads on both platforms back up and have started figuring out what works best on each platform.

2. Money

We all want to make money writing. If not we wouldn't be likely to pay a platform for the opportunity to write for an audience and earn money toward payouts. If we weren't here to make a buck or two, then the contest entries wouldn't be into the hundreds and thousands. Why else do people enter them multiple times, like buying lottery tickets? We're all here taking a shot at a dream.

The more you read and engage with your fellow creators the more you will be engaged with. This is important on both platforms but more so on Medium as they only pay when it's a paid member reading your work. So the more you engage with other members of the Medium platform, the more likely they are to read your work. The more they read your work, the more money you make. In that last instance, Vocal and Medium have a lot in common. The more reads you're receiving, the more your making on Vocal. But, on Vocal, it's a longer, slower game that takes more time to get going.

3. Because I Need To Make Some Money

For the love of God, I'm guilty of it too. I need to make some extra money. And who doesn't? With gas prices, utility prices, grocery prices, and the prices of prescription drugs going ever higher, we all are going to need a second job or side gig. So, as I think about what I would do if I started getting some viral articles and a million reads a month, I think about getting out of debt, continuing to write, and buying a truck to travel the country in, writing about the places and things I see. I'm a long way away, until this article hits that million reads, and then the next one, and the next one, and the next one...you get the picture.

Introducing, Vocal Mobil, my new ride after a few million reads and my start as a traveling indie writer.

4. Chapstick in Hell

A man dies and goes to hell. When he comes around, awake in hell, he looks over and to his surprise, sees a demon.

"What's behind the three doors?" the man asks the demon.

"Ha, ha, ha. The three gates of eternal damnation. Pick one."

Well, he thought to himself, that's awfully nice that you can pick your own eternal torture. The man goes to the first door and the demon opens it for him. Stepping inside, two men are hung up on the wall in front of him. A sexy demoness strolls in front of them dripping honey on their penises.

"This doesn't look so bad..." the man says.

"Open!" the female demon screams.

A gate on his right opens up and a large black bear strolls into the room growling. The two men scream for their lives, their pelvises pulling inward as they try to protect their male appendages.

The man walks out yelling, "Nope, nope, nope. What's in the next room?"

The demon walks in and sees a man on his knees orally servicing a demons large appendage. He cringes at the sight, backing out of the room.

"I think I'll go with door number 3."

The demon opens the door and pushes the condemned man into the third door before closing it behind him. As the man gets his bearings he is surprised to see his ex-wife in the room. It's just the two of them there, much to his dismay. He pounds on the door to the exterior corridor and demands to speak to the demon. When the door opens he's whisked into the corridor.

"What the hell was that?"

"Your third option, maggot."

The man looks at the demon and calmly walks over to door number 2, asking if they have chapstick in hell.

5. Thanks for reading.

I really only had the three good reasons, but figuring out how to work a one-trick joke into a 600-word minimum was getting to be a chore. I hope you enjoyed the article, take the advice, and use it to get your reads up the way I have lately. Most of All, I hope that I see that million reads.

PS, if this gets a million reads I’ll be pleasantly shocked.

literature
14

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.