Journal logo

The College Resident's Secret Dumpling Society

An Invaluable University Experience

By Anna HarrisonPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
The College Resident's Secret Dumpling Society
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

Hello, good morning esteemed guests, and welcome to my presentation. Is my mic on? Can you hear me at the back James? Good! Everyone have their seat? Ok awesome. Let’s begin. Ladies and gentleman thank you for this opportunity for me to present to you today the pitch for the College Resident’s Secret Dumpling Society. I promise this innovative, niche, and practical residential campus initiative shows some truly great potential, and I appreciate all of your openness to an implementation at various academic campuses, your purchases of shares, or your donations and funding for it’s success. I have prepared a brief history and summaries on the powerpoint to help capture the essence of what we are trying to bring to you today. Bear with me, technology is not my best friend, as it mustn’t be yours I imagine Susan ahaha.

*clears throat*

To begin. Back when I was just 17 years old, I was a resident at my University college for three years whilst studying my Bachelor’s degree. Being there all the time I was able to meet a lot of people and spend some quality time with most. It was fruitful ground for friendship and opportunity. It was an eye opening experience to say the least.The world was our oyster and there was ample ground for a platform of creativity and activism. As university's ought to be, it was ultimately the place for discussion, learning, expression, ideas and growth. Throughout my years I joined many different societies, including rowing, theatre, debate, public speaking, and politics to name a few. However, some of my more favoured societies were guised under a more subtle and selective admission, or as some might call it, a secret membership. These were mainly based around societies for food, (i.e snack club, mimosa club as a few examples) however one of the most interesting cases being the Secret Dumpling Society inspired by my Singaporean friend and her wealth of cultural knowledge in that cuisine. One summer’s afternoon, this beloved friend of mine asked me if I wanted to learn how to make wontons with her. Her mother, from Singapore, had taught her when she was younger, and today my friend desired to impart that incredible wisdom to me. She chose me. And one of our other dear friends who was also keen to learn and to eat. Thus the idea was born. We were to make these lovely wontons, in a succulent soup, later that evening in a bulk batch to then freeze and snack on as exams were approaching. Genius. Efficient. Glorious. Strategic for the life of a student. Inspiring for the unmotivated. Exciting for the extrovert and yet gentle for the introvert. Later that evening we all met this friend in the kitchen, when everyone else in the residential home was either in class or at dinner. The time was perfect. The induction to dumpling making began. The three of us were like a well oiled machine. Stations working on making the filling, folding the wrappers, or boiling them in the broth. Until soon after we were all feasting on a wholesome, authentic Singaporean dish. Our bellies were well and truly filled. But our hearts were overflowing.

This was the first gathering of the Secret Dumpling Society. The meetings only continued, with other guests being invited to partake in the making, or simply the benefits of the feasting. It was a process not publicly admitted, but enjoyed by a fortunate few. It was a rich cultural experience for us all, particularly those without an Asian family of their own to teach them this wonderful cuisine.

Fast forward to a few years on. There are days when I crave this secret society and all the joys and memories that came from it. As an Australian with a predominately white European background, this exposure to the beauties of Asian culture was an invaluable opportunity for me. I look back at my university days with a gratitude for this experience. It’s times of reflection like these that cause me to wonder, and to wish that such an opportunity was more widely available, whilst maintaining the integrity of it’s secrecy. Because the secrecy was what shielded it from too many policies or unwanted debate and speculation. The secrecy was the gateway to a genuine experience, free from the harms of advertisement. Not that advertisement as a concept is bad, I’m talking to you Cassandra, I know your job- you did it splendidly!

That brings us to now. My proposal for this implementation of a College Resident’s Secret Dumpling Society. Now, most of you may be wondering how this will look, or what things really means in business terms. Allow me to explain. The idea goes like this. Picture this. Concept. It’s all beginning with the simple yet powerful concept. That is the business for us. The concept of this society can be purchased as a subscription by universities and colleges. Once those institutions own the conducting rights, they scout for students with potential, authenticity and a desire for this program, and offer them the application. Once there are sufficient applicants to partake in establishing these societies, interviews will be conducted. Upon a final decision, these positions will be given to students who wish to offer their multicultural gifts, and authentic talents to those who do not have the same exposure. This offering isn’t a show but a small affair. A contract is signed and these groups will be formed for minimum participation fees as a means of generating business. But ultimately it isn’t even about a profit. In a perfect world where money had no relevance, this would simply be an idea whispered to candidates with interest, until it flowed and evolved into blossoming pockets of education, experience and detailed purpose. Hubs of connection and hands on experience. It is about the opportunity. The experience, a place to fuel cultural expression and reception. To preserve the integrity of tradition, and share it lovingly to others. To build enlightened communities, whose training and learning is authentic and grounded in genuine care. To learn, to engage, to experience, amongst people of good-will, mutual interest, and shared respect and friendship. All without the bombardment of public fanfare or overcrowding. This is a delicate experience. Much like the actual wrapping of a wonton. One founded on authenticity and friendship. This is the College Resident’s Secret Dumpling Society. A place for food, expression, fellowship and friendship.

This brings me to the conclusion of my presentation. I won’t say much else, other than that I hope you truly consider this proposal for university life, as I can say from personal experience that it was rich and invaluable.

Please see me afterwards for further interest. John I know you’ll have some questions. I’ll be around with brochures and answering questions for another half an hour. Oh, and while we are here, I have a plate of dumplings for you all.

Thank you everybody!

(NOTE: the structure of this narrative has used creative license for the sake of an engaging narrative, however the facts of the experience, history of the story and general ideas are true experiences of the author. Thank you to my friend Maddy- can we make more dumplings now?)

humanity
1

About the Creator

Anna Harrison

I love how writing can communicate all sorts of ideas to all sorts of people, connecting and enlightening the world. I studied Liberal Arts and love history, philosophy, and concepts. I'm also a self-proclaimed drama nerd and coffee snob.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.