Journal logo

The Best Business Strategy

Insecurity is a common trait among those who see kindness as a bad thing.

By Gina StefanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Best Business Strategy
Photo by Startaê Team on Unsplash

I've been emphasizing kindness more than anything else for the past few months.

It plays a significant role in the legacy I'm creating for myself. I want to grow large companies and purchase the Jets, but I want to achieve it by being a decent person. I have no desire to demolish others in order to construct the biggest edifice.

The issue is that many people consider kindness to be a sign of weakness. They equate it with being a pushover or passive.

Insecurity is a common trait among those who see kindness as a bad thing. Only if you believe you have leverage over the situation can you be kind.

Because of this, I consider compassion to be a huge asset rather than a passive quality, especially if you're naturally "tough."

I'm becoming more and more aware of how important compassion is as I move through my own life. Sales and negotiation are only two aspects of it. It's not simply about following your passion. Not simply hustle is involved.

I find it so heartbreaking that so many people have the belief that "good guys finish last."

The best business approach is kindness, but people don't understand that.

This is why:

1) Being kind increases emotional capital

In business, you have the leverage if you first provide value to someone else. I genuinely think that.

I invest 51% of my value in every relationship because of this. I use compassion in those situations when individuals are cruel. It's the reason I schedule interviews for small podcasts and blogs, despite criticism from others.

To be clear, though, I'm not Mother Teresa.

Simply put, in both business and life, I believe it to be a wise move.

I develop more emotional capital and improve my reputation as I contribute more. I can profit from that if I want to, for example, when a new book or pair of sneakers is released (even though I prefer not to).

Second, you never know how the lives of the people you affect will turn out. They might become the CEO of a large firm or hold another significant position as their opportunities grow, and that link could prove to be quite beneficial in the future.

Even if they don't work in a "high profile" position, their act of kindness may return back to them in a different way, such as by sharing some of my material or recommending my wine to their friends.

You never know what possibilities being a decent person will bring you from behind. You never know what kinds of opportunities being a nasty person will cost you.

2) It makes employees more loyal.

The main problem for most people is that they observe bad behavior leading to short-term success. They witness the advancement of rude people in businesses. They witness successful business owners treating their employees badly.

They are led to believe that being a jerk is the only way to win the game as a result of this deception.

Many businesses are conned into doing this as well.

They neglect how they handle their staff in their haste to maximize 90-day figures.

However, if you use negativity to manage your employees, they will grow resentful and this will have a long-term negative impact on your company.

At VaynerMedia, the Chief Heart Officer, also known as the Head of HR, is positioned second from the top. She is the company's second-most significant employee.

And if there is ever a conflict between what is best for our employees and what is best for our business, she will almost always come out on top.

3) It Always Pays Off

Being kind is always rewarded. There is always someone looking.

When you practice kindness, people notice, and eventually your life will change as a result.

Even if you are conversing with just one other person in a small area, they will be able to tell when you are being considerate. particularly if they weren't anticipating it.

Even if they treat you badly now, ten years from now they might have a different personality. They might change into someone else. And when they do, they'll recall the character you possessed.

The truth is that nice individuals receive a tremendous lot of opportunities as a result of their benevolence.

Consider this. How often have your actions directly impacted someone else's life because of how you felt about them?

It frequently takes place.

Contrary to popular belief, I have no expectation of receiving anything in return, which is the main reason I am able to be so nice and generous to others. I don't look for gratitude from others, and that is precisely what enables me to continue giving.

You'll have more opportunities than you can handle when you come from that place.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.