Journal logo

The Benefits Of Journaling

My positive experience when it comes to keeping a diary.

By erinhastoomanybooks2.0Published 3 years ago 3 min read
3
The Benefits Of Journaling
Photo by Calista Tee on Unsplash

Journalling. It's an old tip that has been recommended to people for centuries. Some of history's most important artifacts are recovered diaries due to the first-hand accounts they offer. Besides offering insight into a certain period, journaling has several benefits to the writer, all of which stem from my own experience. Having a diary has become a staple in my life and has helped me a great deal. Here are some of the benefits of journaling.

  • It gives you a chance to practice your penmanship.

I always felt like my handwriting was passable at best. My online classes during covid only affirmed this. For a year, everything I had to submit was on a word document, in a chatbox, or spoken into a microphone. It wasn't until an assignment required me to write, did I realize how bad my handwriting really was. Journaling makes me more conscious of this and offers me time to neaten up my penmanship. While traditional paperwork is going out of style in favor of saving paper, having legible handwriting is always a good skill to have in life.

  • Journaling can help improve your routine.

I think most people envision writing in a diary with ink and quill by candlelight. We may have this assumption about journaling because popular diary entries are summaries of the writer's day. This stereotype is actually helpful, at least to me it is. Wrapping up my day in my notebook allowed me to establish a healthy routine and settle for bed much quicker. I swapped half an hour of screen time for half an hour of journaling, which has helped ground me and has made sleeping easier. It also gave me a moment to process my day and note anything I needed to do.

  • It gives you a creative outlet.

We all know at least one movie where a character has a doodle of their crush in their diary. Along with giving you space to doodle, journaling offers many venues to explore your creative side. Initially, I started putting stickers in my journal, but that's just the tip of the iceberg. I've heard of people who use stamps, ribbons, pictures, and more to express their day. I taped in my wristband from senior prom and the strings from my 18th birthday balloons in my journal. Not to mention, journals come in all kinds of shapes in colors, giving you a variety to chose from.

  • Keeping a diary helps you remember your days.

I think it's undeniable that writing down what happened during a day helps you remember. Still, having the assurance that you'll remember who sent you a happy birthday text or how your relationships are going can be priceless in the future. Having a written account of your day can be sentimental. For example, I detailed everything that happened when I got my prom dress. I even glued the receipt into the journal. It's one thing to record a video for yourself, but writing the experience with your own words solidifies the memory better.

Overall, you can't go wrong with writing down your feelings. There are plenty of journals out there, and some even come with daily prompts. You can pick any size, style, and color out there. If you're into bookbinding, you could even make a journal. Writing helps you perfect your handwriting, gives you a chance to create a routine, offers a creative outlet, and makes it easier to remember your days. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. If you want to see more content like this, please like this post, share it with a friend, or subscribe. Don't forget to follow me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks!

advice
3

About the Creator

erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Hello! Welcome to my page where I love posting about crystals, design, writing tips, and more! You can find me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.