Journal logo

The Art of Freelancing While Working Full-Time

Balancing the workload, taking risks, and only saying yes when you can overdeliver

By wanderlusterPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - October 2021
38
The Art of Freelancing While Working Full-Time
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Freelancers have been around for decades. They often worked with agencies to help with increased workloads as they continued to add clients to their business portfolio. But the side gig economy only recently took off among the masses.

When the COVID-19 pandemic put nearly 21 million Americans out of work, many people turned their hobbies into paying side gigs on platforms like Etsy and Upwork. Others marketed their skills to agencies and small businesses or took on contract roles with corporate America.

Beyond that, drivers on popular on-demand apps like DoorDash and Lyft earned incomes with this unique side hustle. Not your traditional side gig, but certainly a feasible way to make some money!

Now that we know what it's like to freelance, we don't want to stop. While some freelancers desire to go full time, others are trying to balance a full-time job with a side gig. I am the latter.

So how are those working full-time able to take on additional work? Let's find out!

Balance, balance, balance

We hear about work-life balance all the time, but this not-so-novel concept gets harder and harder to manage when you throw a side hustle into the mix. And if you're an office worker, whew, good luck! But that's not to say that it can't be done. After all, I, along with thousands of others, have been doing it for years now. Here's how we balance everything:

1. We only do work that makes us happy or inspires us.

By Cindy Liu on Unsplash

If you're doing work solely to make money, you'll burn out quickly. Instead, we power through long nights and weekend work with our passion (okay, and Starbucks), not the money that will be soon coming our way.

I'm so passionate about writing that I write almost every day after work, either for fun or for a client. And honestly, writing for fun is my favorite. It's my passion that happens to make me money in my full-time job and with my side hustle.

2. We set boundaries and stick to them.

By Jose Aragones on Unsplash

I'm fortunate to work from home, so I easily save two hours a day by not commuting. I also choose to start work early so I can finish my day before five. I set strict working hours between 7:00 am and 4:30 pm when I only work my full-time job. I dedicate an hour or two after that to relaxing, getting chores done, and eating dinner.

Once I have had time to decompress from the day, I settle into my couch, flip open my laptop and write. I never work past 11:00 pm. I stick to these boundaries. That way, I can get everything I need to get done at work, have me-time, finish freelance projects, and have time for my passion.

3. We limit weekend work.

By Craig Garner on Unsplash

As much as I love to write—and trust me, it's quite a lot—I can't be at my best without rest, family time, and time for other hobbies. So, if I can't finish my work during the week, I will spend only a day on the weekend completing everything. This is rare though, as I prioritize my projects during the week over the pieces I write for myself.

4. We say "no."

By Daniel Herron on Unsplash

It's easy to be tempted to say yes to every freelance project that comes our way, but there's so much power in saying no. Say no when saying yes means you would put out sub-par quality work. You have a reputation to protect. Say no when it will jeopardize your peace and mental wellbeing. No amount of money is worth being miserable, exhausted, and mentally not well. Say no when the project doesn't excite you.

Take the big risks

It took me a long time to have the confidence to seek out clients or even accept jobs from clients who seemed too big and successful to consider someone like me. I never felt worthy of the big names until a major CPG brand asked me to do a project with them. And then I got a full-time job with a huge player in the tech world, and it finally started sinking in: I can do this.

But none of my successes in the freelance world or with corporate America would have been possible had I not taken risks. I applied for roles and gigs for which I wasn't fully qualified. I put in project bids for thousands of dollars when others were submitting bids for mere hundreds. I projected confidence about my work when I was unsure, and most recently, I launched a newsletter knowing full well that it may be an utter failure.

Over-deliver, always

As I alluded to earlier, one of the worst things you can do is take on projects that will compromise the quality of your work. You want to over-deliver at work and with your side projects, but it can be difficult to do both.

We all have those overly busy weeks at work where we can't seem to catch up. That's okay. But recognize that most of your energy is going to be with your full-time job that week and that taking on anything extra would likely result in low-quality work. You want a reputation for quality! On the flip side, if you know you can take on some work and crank out amazing work, do it! Just be sure to deliver more than you promise and say no when you can't.

It is possible to go full time and freelance, but it takes a lot of work outside of the actual projects. Put yourself first by setting boundaries you can easily stick to, saying no when you can't deliver your best, and doing work, in and out of the "office" that inspires you. You've got this!

workflow
38

About the Creator

wanderluster

Hi there, I’m Sheena. I'm an Ohio born and bred creative and old-school writer who prefers the smooth flow of ink on paper over the clickity-clack of typing on a keyboard. I love travel, typewriters, and doughnuts. Get my ebook!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.