Journal logo

The *Absolute* Flow State

Write fiction and nonfiction at your best without overstraining yourself.

By Andrea D'AngeloPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

When I first read about “flow state,” I asked myself what on earth it was. Soon I understood the definition refers to the abridged version of what I do for many years.

I’ve always been too easily distracted by whatever surrounds me, in fact. As a novelist, I had to find a way to stay focused.

It’s been a natural process because, to me, everything is a distraction.

As described by other writers, Flow State wouldn’t solve my issues because it doesn’t consider the “visual” distractions.

Here it is how I draft 500 pages-long novels in less than two months, even if I suffer from mild dyslexia, which makes my concentration so weak I can struggle all day long to write 500 words.

Several scientific papers claimed between 3% and 15% of the population suffer from mild dyslexia — the range changes depending on the research. I took the lowest and the highest of the values.

Another statistic underlines that half of the affected people don’t know to suffer from it. It means my personal solution can be helpful to other people.

I called it The Absolute Flow State.

Below, I describe how it differs from the abridged version and its benefits for writers. I use fiction as an example, but it applies to nonfiction too because of storytelling.

Make it yours, use it, and spread the tip.

Distraction-free

When you’re writing genre fiction, you’re up not only to imagine a different, non-existent world but even feel the characters on the scene. Sometimes they are many, circumstances are complex, and a lot is going on.

The best way to write such a composition is to be where the story is.

Sound isolation for me is not enough. A noise-canceling headset is insufficient if I still see my desk, the wall, the window. What I need is to remove the visual distractions.

I need total darkness as if I’m immersed in a black abyss where the only existing thing is my imagination.

For a long time, I thought it happened to me because fiction is visualization for the writer. Then I noticed many of my favorite novelists write in a cafe! What was wrong with me?

Nothing!” I thought. “Just find a solution.

As visual distractions are “noise” as much as interruptions or sounds, I eliminated them. When I say total darkness, I mean it.

Darkroom. No backlight on the keyboard. On-screen solid black background with gray text — in such conditions, it seems white, while white is too flashy. You can barely see your hands, so you cannot see the keys. Alas, that means you must be able to type without looking at the keyboard.

If you can, the result is zero distractions. I promise.

Plus, I add the thing the normal “flow state” requires, even if I avoid music unless I want to reach a specific mood — because writing is a delicate thing, often driven by emotions.

What I use is a 360˚ recording of natural sounds. Understand, not that New Age thing with background keyboards. But, for example, a pure incoming, over-head and going thunderstorm, with a few insects coming near and fly away during the hour it lasts.

In 10 minutes maximum, I’m in another place, another time, even in another World, and I’m the first to live the suspension of disbelief.

I am where my writing is. Wondrous.

Fiction goes deep inside

Fiction is like a tree. To understand how it works, you must dig and reach out for its roots.

Let’s consider one of the well-known techniques creative writing courses teach, for instance: “show, don’t tell.” To do it with incisiveness, you need to live it. And to live it, you need to be where the tale is — a description, a character, a dialogue, etcetera.

Possibly you achieve it even if sitting in a cafe. But if you find it difficult as much as me, try the Absolute Flow state. Immerse yourself into the void.

If I were you, I’d give it a try anyway. Wink.

That darkness is like a blank screen. From there comes whatever your imagination shows to you in vivid colors. Consider yourself nothing more than a witness whose due is to report what she sees quickly, hears, smells, tastes, and feels. You don’t exist. It exists the story only.

How quick? As quickly as possible, so you don’t lose ground, and the hounds of distraction cannot hunt you down. My favorite quote from a novelist, which I apply to my daily life and not only to my writing, is from Ray Bradbury.

“Run fast, standstill. This the lesson from the lizards for all writers.”

To run fast when you’re drafting, whatever the type of composition, you must prevent distractions.

Why? Well, because the key is…

You must disappear

When you’re writing, your ego must shrink to the tiniest thing possible. All the barriers, the doubts, the low self-esteem issues, the fears about criticism… Everything must go away.

The deepest you is what should remain, or the part from where comes your wisdom. You can give your perspective to the readers because your most authentic self is what matters in writing.

Find what is hidden at the bottom.

To reach your truth, there’s no other path than going deeper and deeper. Forget where you are, what you’re doing, why you’re breathing. Perhaps it’s counterintuitive, but the best way to tell your story to the World is to disappear and let it flow outside.

You are a barrier, a wall, a filter; call yourself however you prefer. But your vigilant self, ever-controlling, constantly plagued by twisted thoughts, sometimes haunted, is an obstacle.

You will never be your brilliant you without flowing.

Don’t feel diminished. First, it’s the same for anybody. Second, there will be enough room for your deliberate writing during the editing.

While editing, instilling the correct dose of yourself into the tale is a matter of experience so that the Absolute Flow state won’t serve you directly—nevertheless, mind, the better the draft, the better the final version.

Conclusion

The Absolute Flow state helped me to write the best pages of my novels.

It led me to incredible places I remember as if I was there in person. It allowed me to unleash the magic of traveling far away from where I was and expanding my life experience. That’s priceless.

Your brain won’t distinguish the difference. At a distance of years, I read some passages of my first novel. I was there again as if that tale had been an experience, not imagination.

“Imagination has the same depth of reality for those who imagine.”

It often happens I read what I wrote the day before and, incredulous, I ask myself: “Did I write this?” As if it is too good to be mine.

I believe we all have a lot of extraordinary tales — and not only tales — inside us. But we must find our way to let them pour out.

Use the Absolute Flow state, and you will not regret it.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Andrea D'Angelo

4X published author, blogger, IT professional.

I write out of the box.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.