Journal logo

That time I was seriously harassed...

By a national brand; no less.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
1
Photo cred: Mr. Muhammad Ribkhan of Indonesia. Please check him out on Pixabay for a couple more free for commercial use pics.

26JUN2022; 0930, SUN- Rockville, MD, USA

"It's a beautiful morning", as The Rascals sang back in '68. The way this piece hits close to home for a local chain of that restaurant won't be quite as pleasant tho.

I whipped up the following approx 90 days ago, as evidenced by the day/date/time stamp below. Was praying that I wouldn't need to edit it into the customary hit job it's become.

At the same time, my cell had a random, tho incredulous influx in calls from miscellaneous phone numbers right after I sent the original version of this note to corporate. Conversely, none of them randos ringing me replied to my text messages.

Nothing suspicious about that. I might've let this whole sitch slide over my back; were my area's [redacted so I don't get sued] even decent enough to merely throw me a meager bone.

Some modicum of remorse is all I hoped for. Might as well been looking for a federal gov't that's not rife with corruption.

Politics officially entering the chat: I might not be the most astute nor devout believer in feminism; by any stretch of the imagination. That doesn't mean I wanna see wanton suffering for the unacknowledged Nefertitis, Nzingas, and Cleopatras of today's world.

We as a society have simply "Got to do better", as Mr. Eric Bibb sang back in July of '01. Granted there's starting to be a shift in the winds of how we treat potential Wonder Women.

My worries for my fav Munchkins, and all the other future prodigious girls in my Fam is that it's far too little; and farther too late. Woe is me.

Ending on a positive note before my evisceration of [ibid]. One of my all time fav short speeches is from '07; by the Gorgeous Goddess named Dr. Dahlia Wasfi.

It was in Chi-Raq; tho about the beleaguered people of Iraq. In short, if there's Eloquent Elegance out here from way back when fighting passionately with words to speak Truth to (nominal) power; perhaps we can feasibly realize that Lovely Ladies are unfathomably powerful, at a bare minimum...

3APR2022; 1720, SUN

I'm a somewhat frequent patron; who just so happens to be a local combat Vet, a Girl Dad, an audiophile, and a blogger. Clarifying: I don't solely buy a small fountain drink every couple months and call that patronage.

Regardless, I happened to be in the area again just now and noticed a small, attractive young lady taking out two heavy bags of trash; alone; into an extremely secluded alleyway. I find it odious.

Not only is she vulnerable to the elements in her bare head, thin tee, and likely Walmart pants. She was visibly struggling with the small, awkward, and cumbersome bags.

To boot: There's entirely too many crazy individuals out here these days. Especially in the DMV (DC, Md, Va region)!

Heaven forbid, a less tightly wound person could have easily wounded her. Or, God forbid, treated her in a patently inhumane manner; that humanity has become all but completely accustomed to hearing about on the nightly news.

I asked her why you guys don't make the men do it. Her reply: "Idk!"

I "ordered" her to tell her managers that this must no longer be SOP (Standard Operating Procedures). I understand that you need men inside to protect your customers and other employees.

Conversely, I shudder to think of how I might be inclined to retaliate if I see anything remotely resembling this occurrence once more. My goodness graciousness, if I'm consequently compelled to put my Pretty Precious Princesses in the shoes of one of your most unvalued "team members".

As the colloquialisms go: That's, "No cap"; "no funny"; and "no question". I look forward to your expedient resolution, reply, and/or restitution of this matter.

Rather for my time/energy in being obligated to take minutes out of my incredulous schedule to address this issue. Thx in advance.

Peace and blessings; as well as Love to all the Lovely Ladies working for y'all. Especially the ones employed with you since at least Women's History Month.

Ya know; a few days ago. One Love.

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

businesspoliticshumanityheroes and villainsadvicehumanity
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.