Journal logo

Thanks For Letting Me Stay Home

How shoppers became an integral part of my life

By Rachel CarringtonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I'm out of milk. It goes on the list. Add some bananas, a carton of eggs, and a few more items that I've run out of out, and I'm ready to check out. There's no waiting in line, putting my things on a conveyor belt, or running my debit card through the pay slot.

I don't have to look over my shoulder to see if the person standing behind me is six feet away or be concerned if I hear someone cough or sneeze. Instead, with a few clicks of my keyboard, I'm done, and all that's left to do is to open my front door when my groceries arrive. Because someone else is brave enough to shop for me.

With myriad health problems, it's best if I don't put myself in harm's way. But I'm not oblivious to the fact that each time I order, I'm asking someone to take that dive for me. Oh, sure, it might be someone who is young, healthy, and can fight off a virus better than I can, but that same person might also have elderly parents at home or children they want to protect. And they don't have the luxury of staying inside the safety of their homes.

In the midst of this pandemic, we're fighting more than a virus. We're fighting the urge to be selfish, to want to sequester ourselves so tightly within our homes that no germ can enter. Only our need for necessities keeps that from happening. And for people like me, the risks are mitigated by shoppers who aren't risking their health for an executive's salary.

I'm always friendly to the person delivering my groceries, and I always tip, but as they walk away, I'm left with the feeling that it's never enough. How can a thank you and an extra $5.00 compensate someone for walking on a virtual ledge that could lead to devastation in their own family?

Maybe the shoppers aren't worried about the virus, or maybe that's something I tell myself to ease the feelings of guilt each time my doorbell rings. In reality, these shoppers probably are concerned, but they're more concerned about putting food on their table or paying for the medication their child needs.

Many shoppers may continue their job because they want to give back to the community and help where they can. I admire that kind of courage and tenacity because it couldn't be me, but I also worry for these brave-hearted individuals who roll the dice each time they carry groceries to a family's door.

Shoppers can't ask us if we've been sick or if we've been around someone who has been sick. Though their contact with us is minimal, as they approach, they have no way of knowing if the person answering the door has just coughed or if, two minutes after they leave, that individual starts feeling ill. But still they come with grocery bags in hand and a smile on their face. They have a job to do, and they're going to do it.

So to all the shoppers out there, whether you are bringing medication or food to my door, I recognize this is a risky endeavor at present. I understand that you might not have the option to stay home. This job may be more than just a way to earn a side income. Whatever your reasons are for shopping in my place, I thank you.

And though I know my gratitude will never be enough, I still give it. To each and every shopper who allows me to protect my health by staying safe at home, I say thank you, and I hope that you stay safe and well.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Rachel Carrington

I'm an avid writer and reader. I've had over 53 novels published and over 2,000 articles. Here I review movies, TV series/episodes, books, and write about entertainment. www.rachelcarrington.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.