Journal logo

Tell Your Story.

Failing To Succeed.

By Cameron TuttPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Over the years I have struggled with finding my purpose. I have been great at doing many things. I tend to excel at any job I am given. So why is it that eventually I lose that job. When I worked for others I found that often people would play favorites. Meaning, even though I was the better worker. I would often find myself in conflict with management. An example, and most common of these conflicts. Would be someone telling me that I am not working hard enough. That I need to pick up the pace.

I would look around, and notice other employees talking to each other. Playing with their cell phones, and this would in cloud the very same people that tried to correct me. I was the type of person that would rather do his work to pass the time. Rather than talk to people. It wasn't that I was unfriendly. It was just that I wasn't interested in making friends.

I never been a kiss up. I believe that is why I fail to be successful at working for others. I have come to the conclusion that as long as I work for others, and not myself. I will never become successful. As long as someone else has the delete button on my livelihood. I realized that working for a business for 6 to 9 months. To hopefully get a chance to get out of the temporary position, and graduate to an employees position. Is not ideal when your car breaks down, and you need some time to organize new transportation.

Another example would be. Having a medical emergency, but you can't afford to go to the doctor. Which results in you not having a note to take a few days off to recover. Working for yourself has its own struggles, but I find that if you are successful. You become the master of your own delete button.

In my opinion it is harder to motivate yourself to get to work. Then it is for someone else to motivate you. Having a real job, as people call it, means you have to meet the demands of that job. Which means you have to be at work at a certain time, or dress a particular way. When working for yourself these things are optional. Depending on what type of work you choose to do.

When I started out being self employed. I chose to do landscaping like most of the people I know. Mostly because I was familiar with this type of work. I branched out from there, and added on house cleaning along with other things. When I was taking care of properties owned by millionaires. I got to travel a lot with them, and learn many things from them.

One of the things that I learned that they all had in common. Is that they all keep a list of things to do. This was a daily list. Things that they set out to do for the day. This made sense to me, because you have to complete short term goals to get to the long term goals. The best way to do that. That I have seen. Is to focus on the now, and put in the work.

That is why I moved on from being a personal assistant, and chose to start working on line. Working for clients was too much like a normal job. True I had more control over my schedule, but if I lost clients I lost my livelihood. That is why I felt that working online would be better for me. I had always been interested in breaking the code to make money online.

There were a lot of people who believed that money could not be made on line, and would try to tell me that I was wasting my time trying to prove them wrong. After I prove them wrong. I decided to take it more seriously. I did make money in the beginning, but not enough to support a family. That fact was a serious problem for me. There was no one in my circle of friends, or family at the time to guide me in my journey.

All I would get was them telling me to get a real job. I refuse to go through an endless cycle of getting fired, and hired. So I had to make online work successful for myself. Long story short. I realized that if I was to truly make money online. I needed it to be something that I could optionally check in, and do every day. It had to pay weekly, or daily. The most important factor was me being great at what I chose to do, and loved to do it.

The one thing that I found was writing content online. I was told by one of my millionaire clients to find something that people need like toilet paper, or water. He also said, if I can. Be the only one that provides that product, or service. Writing for others has been the closest thing that I have found that works for me. It fits all of my standards, and matches up with what I have been taught.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.