Journal logo

Surf

Posit:

By Z-ManPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like

PREFACE: Some things I am going to do from now on.

  • Use the word "Posit" in making suggestions. (A long belated thank you to "Sneakers" (1992) for that one!)
  • Make good use of the Calendar function on my phone and begin scheduling things ahead of time. (I had an important committment at 6 this morning and was forty-five minutes late due to having not set my alarm last night!! I didn't even cross my mind!)
  • Commit to saving $1 a week and not touching it again until some year+ later date ($52 net earnings over a year is better than none...and likely far less than the total gains will amount to by that time!!)
  • Generally conditioning my caffeine consumption toward a single cup of coffee in the morning, and drinking tea as its replacement throughout the day. (Also working in drinking more water as well, of course...)

Daily Progress

Put in some good effort this morning to stop by a couple businesses to ask about open positions.

One--a clothes retailer--has openings for early morning stocking three days a week, which is nothing strange to me, and would be a bit of a cushy gig. Also, I could probably get trained on register simultaneously, giving me an opportunity to mature my skills there. (The last time I found myself in such a position was at my first job, at Dunkin' Donuts.)

Now, I'm looking to balance two or three positions to give me a sense of variety. And I mean between different places. I do not want to get stuck doing the same thing over and over again, week after week, unless, of course, I have enough variety that it doesn't appear to be so.

Ideally, I have been trying to get a job at the local gym, as I believe I mentioned in a previous article (which I believe I published--helpful, isn't that?). As I said, it would get me more noticed by women, around more masculine people and speaking with customers (fellow beings) to stretch myself (no pun intended), and would give me a free membership in turn.

Nevertheless, things have not fallen into place there for me, and two months or so have heeded no positive results.

I also am applying to the local movie theater again, granted they have some positions open. I actually applied and believe interviewed with one in my old town before getting my first jobs at Dunkins. That theater, unfortunately, was torn down long ago...

Again, my goal is obviously to make money. Still, I am very particular as to what I get involved in. I do not want just any old job(s). I want something that will bring me excitement and hope; something that will check off boxes; something that will help me take more and more steps towards my ideal future.

I want to feel as if there is some purpose to what I am doing, besides the very real and pressing matters of food, shelter, and simple comfort.

I want to have enough money so that I can at least begin to feel comfortable enough to ask women out and show them a good time, whether I have money or no more than a few dollars at hand.

I want for my loved ones and all those others I care about. I want those things that it seems money remains immovable before.

I want a sense of feeling that where I am is truly alright, and that having next to nothing is plenty for me to work with.

Mindset

I mean, it all comes down to mindset, doesn't it?

Space: No Longer the Final Frontier.

Lol.

economylistindustryhumanity
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Great goals. Keep at it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.