Journal logo

Subscribe!

A pitch in 700 words (more or less)

By Amanda FernandesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Vocal Media’s new subscribe feature is bound to be a quite useful tool for authors trying to build a community. Being a new writer can be challenging, and finding people to support your work can be a complicated task. With that in mind, I’ve decided to introduce myself and my writing in case you’re looking for people to follow.

Here is a somewhat comprehensive list of reasons why you should give my writing a chance. I hope this encourages you to make a pitch of your own so I can follow you back.

ABOUT THE WANNABE WRITER

Hello, fellow reader and/or writer! My name is Amanda and I’m trying to become a writer full-time. This is the place where I post my articles and stories and I try to have something new every week, though I don't have a regular posting schedule yet.

While I was born and raised in Porto Alegre, a city in the south of Brazil, I only write in English, which is my second language. For the last eight years, I have lived in Toronto, where I worked as a teacher until the pandemic hit. Now, I spend my time writing, tutoring, managing a little Etsy shop. I also procrastinate my chores as much as I possibly can.

Other than being an immigrant, I am also a bisexual, intersectional feminist who’s pro-BLM, pro indigenous rights, pro-UBI, pro-trans rights, and pro pretty much anything that would make conservatives cringe. I dare say that all of that is reflected in my writing, so beware of what you’re getting yourself into.

I adore the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Harry Potter (but fuck TERFs), books about LGBTQ+ struggles and characters, horror movies, and fantasy books. I’m also getting into comic books, manga, and graphic novels, so you might find some reviews and recommendations on my page.

ABOUT THE WRITING

Though I mostly write fiction, I’ve posted a few essays on Vocal Media on being LGBTQ+, especially in regards to representation in the media. My most read piece to date is I GREW UP WITHOUT A MIRROR. Occasionally, I write a book review, an article about reading, or a piece for a Vocal Challenge because I like to try new things. I managed to get a new story out for every challenge of the Summer Fiction Series, for which I am very proud.

My favorite genres to write in are horror and fantasy, usually with a queer twist. If you’re looking for something bone-chilling, I’d like to recommend SOMEONE KNOCKED ON THE ELEVATOR DOOR; if you’re in the mood for some mystery, TAKE GOOD CARE OF MY HOME; if you just want a bickering couple trying to run a haunted shop, MIXED & MATCHED is open for business; and if you’d like to take a look at my first attempt at creepy poetry, I COME TO THE TREE is my most recent piece.

I’m still growing my writing and trying new things. In the future, I’d like to write about the struggles and the joys of immigrating to another country as an adult. I’d also love to write more about mental health because I suffer from depression and anxiety. In fact, if you write about those things, I could use the daily boost!

Finally, I have plans to post some long rants about fictional characters who deserved better, and you can find something like this already in MINIMUM EFFORT, a short essay about the Loki series.

YOU CAN ALSO FIND ME HERE!

Subscribing to my page here is a great help, but if you’d like to support my writing - or if you’d just like to say hi - there are other places you can find me.

On TikTok, I post nonsensical videos and rants about writing @authoramandafernandes. You can also find me on TikTok @dndtryhard, where I’m trying to learn to play DND and post even sillier videos about an array of nerdy subjects.

My official Instagram is @authoramandafernandes, but I haven’t posted anything there yet. I’m still figuring out how to make social media work for me. If you are a fellow writer on Instagram, though, follow me and I’ll follow you back.

I also have an Etsy shop where I sell digital products.

Finally, you can find a few audio adaptations of my stories here:

THE CLIMB, adapted by the No Sleep Podcast.

TAKE GOOD CARE OF MY HOME (then called “I Ran an Online Scam on Craigslist”), read by Creepypasta.

THE BUTT OF THE JOKE and its sequel IT'S ALL A JOKE TO HER, read by Madame Raven

SOMEONE KNOCKED ON THE ELEVATOR DOOR, narrated and illustrated by Lisbeth Six.

WHAT ABOUT YOU?

I’d love to read your pitch and subscribe to your Vocal page. If you post your own pitch, hit me up on Instagram and let me know!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Fernandes

She/Her

Brazilian Immigrant

Writer of queer stories and creator of queer content.

Adapted to The No Sleep Podcast, season 14, episode 21, “The Climb”.

I believe that representation matters and that our community has many stories to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.