Journal logo

Stitch with Mik

Starting my embroidery business and the inner peace my work brings me

By Mikaela GillettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Top image: me embroidering. grey mask is my first mask. black mask is one of my pride masks.

When I was little I use to take a needle and thread and stitch things together to make blankets, pillows, and little toys, these didn't always come out great because I was young and didn't really know what I was doing but I remember how much fun taking that needle and thread and just sitting there for a whole day pulling the thread in and out was. At that time I didn't know what embroidering was and years later I still didn't, I found embroidering during this pandemic when everyone was stuck at home finding hobbies to do to keep them sane, I found embroidery.

I bought a little embroidery kit off of Amazon and when it came in and I got everything together and started embroidering on random pieces of fabric I started to fall in love with passing that needle through the fabric all over again so I began to step up my game a little and I started to find designs on Pinterest that I wanted and I embroidered my very own mask and that is still the mask I wear today, it's my favorite one. Because I found so much peace with doing embroidery I started a little business called Stitch with Mik and I started making hats and masks and socks and I will be continuing to create more and more.

Embroidery in itself is an art and I've never really been good at art but it's like painting with a needle and thread and I've found that a needle and thread is my thing and I find myself getting lost in the designing and before I know it there's a piece of art staring right back at me. With embroidery, I have an endless amount of creations I can make whether they are inspired by someone else's designs or freehanding my very own they are always my creations and that's what makes it so fun. No one can copy your exact stitch because it's unique to how you did it at that moment, half the time I can't even perfectly copy my own stitches even if I just did them two seconds ago. But that's what makes it so peaceful because no matter if the stitch is the same or if the stitch is perfect, your artwork, in the end, will still be beautiful and unique and it won't matter if one stitch is messed up, I find peace in knowing that the mistakes and the imperfections are what makes it an artwork and what makes it your own and that the beauty of it.

If you've never felt the peace when embroidering, think of it as taking a walk, when you're walking you're not thinking of picking up your foot and then putting it down and then repeating that over and over and over again, you're not thinking about breathing in and out as you walk, and you're not thinking about opening and closing your eyes to blink. All of this comes naturally and all of this is peaceful because otherwise a simple walk would be beyond stressful, could you imagine having to think through all your movements! I would never walk again. Well, obviously when you're a child and just learning it's different but the point is you're focusing on the destination or even just what turn you're gonna take next if you don't have a designated route. This is the same with embroidery, you think about the picture, not the stitch or how to do the stitch, that's what you think about when you're the kid learning to walk when you're not the kid then you find peace in the stitch, you think of the picture and you put the stitches in the right spots to make the right picture, and you'll know what stitch will go where the same as you know not to walk through the puddle but to walk around or perhaps jump over if you're a little adventurous, and then your embroidering becomes a walk and it becomes peaceful and the same as you enjoy the birds chirping on your walk you start to enjoy the movement and the creative feelings of embroidery.

art
Like

About the Creator

Mikaela Gillett

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.