Journal logo

Starting at the End

The end of the road just means you have to build more road.

By Tyrell ShacklefordPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
THE FACE I MADE WHEN I QUIT MY JOB

My story begins much like anyone else, I begrudgingly worked a 9 to 5 stuck in the monotony that is a Monday - Friday routine. I hated it! Every second I felt myself slowly suffocating. It was like being killed in a crockpot set on low. I wanted so badly to leave but I had to stay because, like most, I have a wife, 2 children (ages 6 and 11) and a house to pay for; so I stayed. I stayed through all of the bullshit, through all of the painful mornings contemplating suicide as I drive down the 2 lane road I take to work. "I just need to turn the wheel the slightest bit to the left and BAM! An entire month off of work." I would say to myself as I chew back a belch that reminds me how hungover I am. Most days my coworkers found joy in our interactions, we would speak of shenanigans of the past or things we've got planned for the weekend, maybe even a joke or two. Then there were days when I would go of on tangents asking questions like "Doesn't a coma sound good for a little while? Not like a serious one, just a month or so?" I just wanted to do nothing! Absolutely nothing. I was tired of the constant sales goals and customer retention and the blatant disrespect. In 2013 I took a standup comedy class. In this class I was under the impression I would learn how to become a standup comedian. I should have known that wasn't true immediately because in the first class the teacher tried to sell us his book on real estate. He dropped a stack in the center of the giant table we were all sitting around and grumbled "$20 each, and its only that price because you're my students." I will go ahead and say I didn't learn much about how to be a comic from that class, but if you need a good deal on a house, I know a guy. I did learn one thing from that class, and that is the fact that there is a 350 homosexual ginger man out there who is obsessed with Lucille Ball, and that he and his, equally as large, partner reenact scenes from "I Love Lucy" every Friday night in an apartment they rent from his mothers wealthy boy toy. I digress, with the help of this class I entered into the world of standup comedy and I was hooked. I'd always told people I have an addictive personality, and there is no better drug than pure, uncut laughter. Creating those moments where people are falling over in there seats, or shaking their heads and bending over forwards and as they lean back up they clap their hands. Literally undescribable. To put it into words wouldn't do it justice. At best, sex is a close second. I love comedy so much that as of January 29, 2021 I will no longer have that job I spoke so highly of earlier. I QUIT! I am now devoting 100 percent of my time to becoming a professional standup comedian. This is more than just a fresh start, its the end of a grueling journey. I am done with painful life line. I am leaving behind $70,000 a year, and walking out into this sick sad world and I am going to make a name for myself. This is my first official submission on this platform and I am not even really sure I did this write. I just figured the timing couldn't be any better. I have a Youtube channel where you can follow my progress. I will be uploading a video every 2 days to show my progress. Thank you for reading, and I also hope I uploaded my video correctly. Search Tyrell Shackleford and you will find me.

https://youtu.be/USNMSL-FNaU

humanity
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.