Journal logo

Start

What designs can be discussed during a first date for former African-American slaves?

By Skyler SaundersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was 1884, in Dover Delaware. Ella Mae Cash, forty-two, and Reno Willard, fifty-three, were playing dominoes at Willard’s tavern. Willard had brought the Merlot, and was pouring Ella Mae a glass when she remarked,“It’s finally Juneteenth,” she smiled before taking a sip of the red wine.

“That’s the right time,” Willard said, sipping his wine, too.

“This day marks the day my mama and daddy knew they were ‘free,’ but it still took time to truly know the sweet taste of liberty.”

Willard looked up at the ceiling. “I knew my daddy, but my mother was sold off way before I could tell the difference between the two of them.”

“This day is for them,” Ella Mae said, as they clinked glasses.

“You know I just thought the people affected were in Texas. I didn’t know that our good old state of Delaware was still a slave state even though it was in the Union during the War. It bordered slave states. ”

“I know that now too. Delaware didn’t have any gray coats but the state sure had slaves. Sussex County had them, and I would imagine pieces of Kent, probably New Castle too.”

“Yes, but we’re celebrating now. It’s bittersweet, but it’s something that means something,” Willard said.

“I know that’s right,” Ella Mae replied as she poured some more Merlot.

“I can’t believe this is our first date,” Willard said.

“Seems like I’ve known you my whole life,” she responded.

“You have, woman,” Willard said. “We just never made anything official like this here.”

She asked, “You sure you don’t want any whiskey?”

“No, this wine is treating me well,” he answered.

Ella Mae shrugged. She poured more wine into Willard’s glass.

“I can say we’ll be able to build bigger businesses than this. By celebrating this joyous occasion, we’ll be able to plant in fertile ground. Juneteenth means something better for the Negro,” Willard continued.

“The secret to all of this is to see that we can be totally focused on our goals. We can make as much money as we possibly can without doing anybody harm,” Ella Mae said, her voice almost breaking. She sipped her wine.

The tavern was closed for the holiday, allowing the townsfolk time with their families. Ella Mae and Willard just enjoyed the day with enough wine to keep them together for the first time.

“This is our first date together,” Ella Mae repeated again, almost wistful.

“Yes, Darling.”

“That’s alright,” she said.

The wine flowed like a faucet.

“I’m surprised you didn’t have an idea for a grocery store, found a lawyer’s office, or even a dentist’s office,” Ella Mae said, sounding forlorn.

“Did you take a look into my brain and see what I wish to make, woman?”

Ella Mae stood up and walked around the place. She took her wine with her.

“There’s a place we can make. I heard it said amongst former slaves. We can build our own cities, and do our own thing,” she said.

Willard stood up too, and put his wine down on the table. He placed his hands on her shoulders.

“We can do that. Right here in Dover. All those things you must’ve saw in my thoughts can be built,” he said.

“You must’ve had too much wine. You’ve been walking around talking about this wondrous place to be built,” Ella Mae said as she picked up the bottle, and squared up with him. Willard took hold of her arms.

“Look, now, I have the funds to set all that in motion. We’ve known each other for almost a year now. This is our first time together as a couple. Let’s just let this wine flow and relax, while the crowds are away.”

Ella Mae smirked and kissed Willard on the cheek. She put down the glass.

“We can start today.”

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

Cash App: $SkylerSaunders1

PayPal: paypal.me/SkylerSaunders

Join Skyler’s 100 Club by contributing $100 a month to the page. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.