Journal logo

Start a business as a marketing copywriter

Is it good to become a marketing copywriter?

By Calvyn LeePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

The first time I learned about money-making writers and not the one-hit wonders who end up on TV with Oprah was over ten years ago down in Washington DC.

I was working for National Direct Marketing producing marketing campaigns worth millions of dollars. I was overseeing the production of mail being sent out to millions of people throughout the US.

This was highly targeted, money-making mail. In fact, it was making millions of dollars for our client (and a little bit for us, too).

Although, sadly, I wasn’t the one making the big bucks.

Because I produced all of this mail, I was the one working with the creative teams and the client management side. And being young and new to the direct mail industry at the time, I had my own perception of who made what kind of money.

I assumed the well dressed account people made all the dough.

And looking at the creative people especially the copywriters, you would think they worked in a record store.

But the more I got to understand how direct marketing worked, the more I realized that these creatives, especially the copywriters, didn’t have to work that hard. (Read my previous post: Should I still become a Copywriter)

I didn’t think their jobs were easy, but I did wonder where they were most of the time. I used to hear how our art director was always at the library doing “research.” I would hear how one of our copywriters spent more time surfing than he did working (more on him later).

But I knew that for the little they did work, it had more value than the fifty hour weeks everybody else in that office was putting together.

It was the creativity — and especially the copywriting — behind these mail campaigns that brought in all the money for our clients, and because of that, the copywriters were paid quite well.

(I was responsible for estimating the production of a direct mail campaign, so I saw the actual costs of what these copywriters were making.)

I remember first learning about this “life of luxury” these writers lived when we were waiting to get on a conference call with this copywriter on the west coast.

We were trying to get in touch with him and had no luck. His wife answered his home phone and said he would be back in a little while.

He was out surfing.

Right there I realized who had the better life in our industry. It wasn’t me. I had to travel all around the country most of the time working in printing plants until four in the morning supervising the production of the letters this “surfer” was writing.

So when I first read the promo about Michael Masterson’s Six-Figure Copywriting Course, it really peaked my interest. I had already owned a ton of books on copywriting and taken a few courses to learn the writing skills.

And since getting my hands on the course, I can’t tell you how much my business and my understanding of marketing has improved. I took it for granted that because of my ten years in marketing and advertising I had most of the answers.

But the fact is that, until you understand the psychology and the techniques involved in selling with words, you’re missing the boat. Developing the skills of a direct marketing copywriter will either give you a very lucrative career or will enhance your understanding of marketing your own business. Which is what it did in my case.

If any of what I just talked about interests you, I really do recommend the copywriting course. It not only gives you all the tools, but you actually send in assignments that are graded and critiqued. The value is exceptional and I highly recommend it.

From the very beginning of the course, you’ll get the “can-do” attitude that, I suspect, most people feel about this course. Becoming a direct mail writer is a very real opportunity, and you probably won’t find anything like it on this particular subject.

There are books available and some that I can recommend to help you learn copywriting. But in my honest opinion Michael Masterson’s Six Figure Copywriting Course is something I’ll recommend.

industry
3

About the Creator

Calvyn Lee

I am Calvyn Lee, a Digital Marketing Trainer, also a HRDF Trainer and certified trainer from MDEC

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.