Journal logo

Sit, Craft & Sip

A splash of confidence, panache and flair

By Meyetta GrimesPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Sit, Craft & Sip

My name is Meyetta “Meme” Grimes and I am the Creator of the Facebook Group “Sit, Craft & Sip”. It is a home décor group, created for individuals to come together and share DIY home décor related crafts.

I have always been interested in home décor, fashion, and the likes. Previously, I belonged to several different home décor and DIY groups on Facebook. Many people would share their projects, their finds, their rooms and spaces, etc. They were all so gorgeous, but one thing bothered me about being in these groups and seeing all the lovely comments and compliments about the posts. When someone would ask the poster, “Where did you get that from?” or “How did you do that?” I never saw a response. People weren’t willing to share information. This sparked my idea for creating my Facebook Group Sit, Craft & Sip.

Sit, Craft & Sip was established in January 2020. I lost my job and was in the process of trying to find another one. I had recently gotten engaged and moved in with my fiancé’, now husband. He said to me, “Sweetheart, why don’t you use this down time to follow your passion?” So, I did just that. I took the leap of faith, started a Facebook Group and began posting inspirational DIY projects, home décor ideas, projects that I was working on, a list of materials and supplies, etc. I developed a community of individuals with similar dreams and inspirations.

Today, I have more than 15,000 members who follow along daily, make posts and comment on projects that are posted in the group. I have heard many times from many different people how they feel my group, Sit, Craft & Sip, is the best group on Facebook because there is no drama, people are always helpful and supportive, open to sharing, and non-judgmental. I pride myself on keeping the group free of drama. I’ve been sent private messages from individuals who have said that the group has been a place of therapy for them. I am always elated to hear their stories.

Because I’ve always been passionate about being creative, with home décor specifically, I wanted to create a space that I could share that passion with others. Sit, Craft & Sip does just that for me. It brings me so much joy to wake each day and see that others are inspired by something I posted, or that others have posted in the group. I’m somewhat of a free spirit and love lots of colors so I’ve pushed the envelope many times with my creative ideas and have encouraged others to do the same.

Why do people follow me? I’ve asked this question several times of myself but I decided to reach out to my followers and ask them today. Here are some of the responses I received:

- I get so inspired by the posts you and other members share. So clever, creative, stylish, and affordable! You can't get this everywhere. Thanks for doing what you do!

- This is a safe and encouraging space to be creative!

- Following you allows us to get ideas, inspiration and feedback from others all across the world. And you are limitless in your talents and it gives us hope!!!

- We follow you because you follow through

- Very welcoming, organized, consistent and excellent content

- I love the style which you evoke in this group. So creative, inventive and inspiring! Also good on the wallet!

- I am here because I enjoy your style, the creativity shown in the group, motivation, DIY ideas and the open encouraging virtual atmosphere.

- I am here because I love your style and feel inspired everytime I visit. I love the genuine care you have for your community

- Not only have you shared your creative style, you have showed people their inner creative artistry that many of us didn't realize we had. You have created a sisterhood where many of us feel like we can reach out to many of the most experienced crafters for any questions or assistance. You are always available for questions and you give people links and ideas to help make things affordable. Thank you for everything that you have given us!

- I just love your transparency, honesty,talent and most importantly your kindness. I’m a part of other groups but your group and the members are a joy to be a part of. There’s no mean girl mentality but only respect for everyone’s style.

- I can say you truly care about the individual(s) that belong to the group. I know that because when I came across this group, you and I connected with a love for design. So much so, we talked on the phone for 30 minutes or more. We talked about our interest and we even share personal things. You are not just a blogger or a FB post, you are an encourager, YOU ACTUALLY CARE.

When answering the question, “What brings me true fulfillment?” I would have to say that it’s nothing more than being able to help others. Not only do I do this for the members of Sit, Craft & Sip but I am active in my community as well with helping others. Each month, my husband and I make bagged lunches and go out into the streets of our community to pass them out to homeless individuals. I know that it’s not a lot but it brings us both great joy to see the smiles on their faces, realizing that someone took the time to do something for them. Many times, I like to add a little something extra in the bags, like a tootsie roll. They’re elated to receive them. Helping individuals in the Sit, Craft & Sip group has been the most fulfilling part of having the group. There are often times when individuals mention that they are frustrated and not sure what to do to the spaces in their homes. I have taken countless hours of my time to help people find budget friendly items and ideas so that they’re able to make their home something they’re proud of.

When I think about ways to monetize my passion in a perfect world, I think about launching a Franchise, which I’ve titled “Hatched” in my head. The concept of Hatched is simple…it’s a DIY Studio and Retail center that allows creatives the space, tools and resources to fulfill their dreams. It also links individuals up with like-minded folks, companies, celebrities, etc. So, here’s the concept/idea of Hatched broken down a bit more:

Growing up, I always wanted to do things like, becoming a fashion runway model, drawing, designing clothing, a home interior decorator, etc. However, all those hopes and dreams were just a figment of my imagination. I grew up in a really small town, with few resources. I never imaged that I could have made these dreams a reality. Hatched is a concept to help make hopes and dreams a reality. There are many people, young and old, who dream of becoming something more, like a professional athlete or doing something creative like painting furniture. The idea of Hatched is to provide the space and resources for individuals to do just that. If someone is interested in fashion design, Hatched will have a space with sewing machines, fabric, etc. along with a teacher/instructor to help guide individuals through the process of design. Additionally, it will help individuals understand the concepts needed to get into the fashion industry and to provide funding through scholarships/awards/donations to help fund those dreams. Hatched will also be a gateway for those individuals so that they’re able to, for example, participate in competitions like Project Runway. Or, if an individual is interested in becoming an Interior Decorator, Hatched would help guide and walk them through trainings, resources and the like to have the opportunities to do just that. Likewise, if someone is interested in playing a sport, Hatched would be the vehicle for helping them with coaching (or at least finding/funding coaching), providing them with help on networking with other professional athletes, etc.

A portion of Hatched will be nonprofit, where we could accept donations (monetary or physical products), a portion of Hatched will be for retail space and allow opportunities for creatives that are members of Hatched to sell their custom-made items, and a portion of Hatched will be utilized as a teaching and learning resource center where individuals will go to learn all about the things that they’re most interested in. For those interested in using the tools and resources at Hatched (ex. Sewing room, or paint sprayer, or piano, saw, etc.) individuals can sign up for a membership to take classes, or rent equipment, etc. either on an hourly, daily, monthly or annually basis.

Hatched could also hold contest and competitions for different age groups. Hatched could have fundraisers and partner with other global organizations. It could also partner with schools, daycares, colleges and universities, social services, nursing homes, etc. I foresee Hatched as a Franchise Opportunity in several different cities in the United States and in several countries across the world.

If I had to answer the question, why should people support my passion, I’d have to say that it’s because I feel that it would add value to so many individuals. As I reflect back on my own hopes and dreams, I wish I had a space like Hatched to go to or some kind of guidance to help lead me in the right direction. There are so many young and old people suffering from the lack of stimulation, the lack of encouragement, the lack of just having something to do. I would love the opportunity to provide something like Hatched in big and small communities to help push individuals to the next level.

art
1

About the Creator

Meyetta Grimes

My name is Meyetta (Meme) Grimes and I'm a creative soul. I enjoy creating a lot of unique things, including home decor and fashion items. I look forward to creating more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.