Journal logo

Should you choose paper books or e-books?

Welcome to share your views

By DerasomPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

I have always been confused, should I choose a paper book or an e-book for reading?

Especially after reading a few e-books recently, I feel pretty good, so I am even more entangled.

Reading a paper book is like a ritual.

Imagine a quiet woman, sitting on a rocking chair on the balcony, holding a well-printed book in her hand, turning the pages gently, smelling the light smell of paper logs mixed with text ink, the sun hits On the pages of the book, the breeze from the window blew in gently, and the picture was intoxicating just thinking about it.

When reading e-books, it seems that I don't feel much at all after reading it, and the sense of accomplishment is quite small.

It's been so frustrating, it's so frustrating. I had to stop and think carefully.

After spending a whole day, constantly checking information and thinking, I finally figured out the answer. At least, I convinced myself.

So, no matter who asks me this question in the future, "When reading, should I choose an e-book or a paper book?"

My answer is: eBooks.

Why choose eBooks?

In this day and age, it can be said that almost everyone can publish a book, and the quality of a large number of books can be imagined. If you want to screen the quality of books through physical books, it may not only exhaust you half to death, but just say how much it will cost, you can also stumbling a group of people, I may be one of them.

So, I think the first benefit of reading e-books is saving money.

You can easily find a variety of e-book websites, and you can't even read them all. Where do you spend money on paper books?

Ebooks are suitable for "themed reading"

The second benefit of reading e-books is thematic reading.

What is thematic reading? Today, when I was searching for information, I accidentally saw such a concept. After some understanding, I generally understood it. The so-called theme reading is to select a problem to be solved, find all relevant books, and then focus on reading to form a mental model.

The benefits of topic reading are that it is efficient, focused, and profound.

I have seen a similar method before, that is, if you want to learn a certain skill, you can buy more relevant data, and then take out their catalogues, pair a pair, find similar parts, these are the essence. . Because each author's writing method, style, experience, and cognition are different, but if all authors have written and agreed with the part, it must be a common cognition, which is basically close to the core method of this skill.

So, when I was practicing speed reading, I bought 7 books from a certain shopping platform in one go, spent a lot of money, and checked the contents of each book when I came back, and then read each book carefully, but Focus on reading the parts that have the same content. Sure enough, I found the answer.

But looking at it now, I was really stupid at the time. These books have e-books in various reading apps. I can save this money to have a good entertainment, and then read the e-books for free. I regret it.

Haha, let's go too far, continue to come back to the topic reading.

Writing here, I suddenly thought that I spent a whole day today sorting out whether to choose e-books or paper books, which itself is an example of thematic reading. I got the answer I wanted through e-books, various articles and materials, and my own thinking. This is the benefit of topic reading.

So why are ebooks good for topic reading?

I think the answer is obvious. E-books are easy to retrieve and rich in resources, which is equivalent to adding a buff to "theme reading"

E-books are good for building mental models (body of knowledge)

I was just saying that topic reading helps build a complete mental model. So what exactly is a mental model?

After all, a mental model is a knowledge system. Everyone has their own mental model for each skill. The richer the mental model, the more thorough your mastery of the skill. For example, an average person drives a car and a race car driver drives, both have their own mental models of the skill of driving, but obviously the mental model of the car driver is more complex and complete than the mental model of the average person, so the driver drives more. Well, know more.

The same example goes, common people ride bicycles and acrobats ride bicycles, common people use computers and programmers use computers, common people sing and Justin Bieber sing, common people play basketball and Kobe plays basketball; etc.

But the difference is that the mental models established by the two are different. The mental model of an ordinary person is like a room that has just been built, can live in, and is not leaking, and the mental model of another person is like a luxury villa.

Of course, I believe that every ordinary person has their own areas of expertise. In your own areas of expertise, the mental model you build is very powerful.

So, building a good mental model is important for everyone.

E-books, on the other hand, help you build mental models.

Several other benefits

1) Easy to search

Many times, when I think of a certain knowledge point in a certain book, and I can’t remember it no matter how much I think about it, I want to look for it in the book, but I can’t do anything about the paper book, so I can only turn it page by page. For e-books, you can enter simple keywords, and a fuzzy search is OK.

2) Easy to take notes

I used to take notes. I read the author's wonderful points and got some insights. I want to write them down in the book. I can't bear to make a mess of the book. question.

E-books are easy to solve, bookmark and record notes at any time. And the notes are synced to the cloud (many apps can do it) and can be viewed anywhere.

When you want to revisit a book, open the bookmark first and see if you remember the notes, which can stimulate more memories of the book.

3) Easy to carry

You can read anywhere as long as you have your phone in hand. If you feel that you can't control yourself, you can buy a dedicated reader. For those of you who love reading, you will soon fall in love with it.

4) Increase leisure reading time

With e-books, we can read anytime, anywhere, such as taking the subway, waiting for the bus, going to the toilet, waiting in a long queue, etc., all kinds of scenarios you can think of, as long as you have a little time, you can take it out and read it. Reading in a variety of scenarios can not only bring different experiences, but also make your memory more profound.

5) Listen to the book

Many reading apps are equipped with a voice reading function. If you are more leisurely at work or need a break, you might as well put on headphones, close your eyes, and quietly enjoy the fun of AI intelligence reading for you. The sound may be a bit rigid, but at least save effort.

There are many other benefits to eBooks, and here are some of the ones I've put together that I think are the most useful.

Summarize

After reading this, I believe you already have your own answer to the question of choosing a paper book or an e-book?

Let's summarize what the benefits of e-books are.

1) E-books save money

2) E-books are convenient for subject reading

3) E-books are good for building mental models (body of knowledge)

4) Easy to retrieve, easy to carry, easy to take notes, to increase leisure reading time, to be able to listen

Well, having said all that, e-books are great, and I don't want to abandon paper books entirely. At least now I still enjoy that kind of time, bathing in the sun, holding a book, smelling the fragrance of the book and nibbling on it. (some classic books, it is worth buying paper books)

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.