Journal logo

Service with a Smile

A little effort goes a long way...

By Shawn CobbPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

It was a scorcher of a Friday evening at the ol’ Outback Steakhouse, the restaurant would officially open in just a few moments, and the lobby was already PACKED! AND, to top it all off, I was given my favorite section of tables to wait on. Oooh baby, I’m gonna be making some loot tonight!

Now all of us servers were waiting in the back. This here would be our last moments of peace before all hell broke loose. But, my uniform was crisp and clean, I’ve got my bank, extra pens— I was all ready to bring my A-game! The hostess finally came back to let me know that all of my tables were sat. Here we go!

But as soon as I reached my section, the wind was knocked right out of my sails! They sat a party of three at my 6-top. Are you fucking kidding me?? Now, if you’ve never waited tables, you may not get the big deal here – but a 6-top is for parties, man! THIS cuts the potential bill – AND your tip – in half. AND to make matters worse, they had to be the homeliest table I had ever seen! It was a daughter who was taking what I assumed to be her parents, out to dinner. Now, she looked normal: she was dressed nice and obviously knew her way around the menu. First she placed an order of cheese fries for their appetizer, then proceeded with her order. I was actually impressed by my little city mouse. But as for these country-assed mice she brought with her? OMG WOW, they looked like they were straight out of the backwoods somewhere! The dad wore a pair of frumpy overalls and a plaid shirt— he looked very… VERY country. And as for the momma? She was sporting a housecoat, big ol’ rollers in her head, and… houseslippers. Only she spoke, he grunted and mumbled every so often, but I wasn’t sure if he could even speak at all.

And guess what they ordered for dinner? They would be following their cheese fries appetizer with… two MORE orders of cheese fries!”

I proceeded to take my other table’s drink orders and head towards the back. I could already see my fellow servers juggling plates and freaking out over the size of their massive parties and MASSIVE orders. Must be nice. And the lobby was already thinning out as more and more parties were sat. I’m gonna miss out on all of that money messing around with these three!

I was in the middle of punching in their stupid order when it hit me. It wasn’t a matter of them being cheap, they just didn’t know any better. BUT, if I go back out there now and try to change their minds, there’s no guarantee I’ll succeed, AND I’ll fall behind on ALL of my tables! Screw it, I decided to grab a menu and take my chances.

“Hey guys, I placed your app order, and it’ll be out shortly. But before I ring up the rest, I wanted to see if I could change your minds about your dinner choices. Now you got the cheese fries coming, which is a heaping plate of fries, smothered with cheddar, jack and bacon bits. And to be honest, I’d be shocked if you guys managed to finish that plate. Now your daughter here obviously knows the drill. The appetizer comes out, then comes her salad, and just as she’s finishing her salad, I’ll be bringing out her meal. But for you guys? I will be bringing out… more cheese fries. And I will likely be bringing togo containers right along with them. Now, mind you, fries are already near impossible to reheat properly as it is, but fries covered in cheese? Makes for LOUSY leftovers! But if you ordered, say, the catfish, you’ll not only get to enjoy a nice salad, but you will also get a great meal that you will not finish, but that will still taste great once you reheat it at home. So what do you think?

The mother stared at me for what felt like forever before she spoke. “Thank you so much for being patient with us. You know, this is our very first time at a restaurant, and we had no idea what to get until we saw some girl walk by carrying a plate of them cheese fries, and they looked so good that we’ve been set on getting them ever since! So, what else should we get besides the catfish?”

As I sat down in the booth beside them, anguished visions of my other neglected tables bubbled to the surface of my thoughts, so I grabbed another server as she walked by and gave her 20 bucks to deliver my apology, and to make sure my other tables were taken care of until I was caught up. The cheese fries arrived just as I finished with their order. And no, they did not finish them. By the time I came with the bill, they were practically bursting at the seams, but they couldn’t have been happier. As I finally got all caught up with my other tables, I was able to chat with them about why I was so tied up with my ‘little’ big table. Thankfully they appreciated my intentions, and it was reflected in the tips they left me.

The daughter flagged me down; they were finally ready to leave. But I’m not gonna lie, they were all so sweet, they coulda sat there all night for all I cared. The dad, who was still silent but all smiles, had the check and cash in hand. “He really likes you,” said the mom, “He insisted on being the one to pay you.” I thanked him and gave him a hug. Then the mom placed my hand between hers. “I hope we gave you enough money, you were so wonderful and patient with us. Thank you so much!” I hugged them all, and told them to feel free to ask for me whenever they returned.

I wasn’t expecting much from them as I counted the money they gave me… But they tipped over 35% I cried, not because of the money, but because of my desire FOR money, I almost missed out on an experience and connection that changed my heart forever. It’s not what you get, it’s what you give. And I suspect I’ll be reminded of that truth for the rest of my life. Thank you.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Shawn Cobb

Shawn Cobb is an author, illustrator, and storyteller whoaspires to inspire through life experiences and stories that find and exposes that common thread that binds us all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.