Journal logo

Sample Chapter – My Journey With Delegation

An Excerpt from Work From Home: Delegation

By Shelley WengerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am deep in work with my latest book: Work From Home: Delegation.

Here is a sample chapter to get you interested!

My Journey With Delegation

I never really thought about delegation when I started writing. I figured that I would just write as much as I could since I couldn’t really do more than that! That worked for quite a while – years in fact.

I wrote my own blogs. Usually, I would spend a day and write a month’s worth of blogs at once.

I also wrote for BlogMutt as much as I could. My goal was to write two blog posts every weekday. I was estatic on the days that I was able to write more than that, though there were other days that I never even got close to my computer.

This worked well for me for over a year, though, in terms of businesses, mine was not very successful. My monthly goal (in terms of income) was to pay my car payment each month and I was able to do that, so I was happy! Any extra was always welcome, though I considered it a good month when I could pay for the car.

I was also dabbling in ebook writing, though everything else was taking TOO much time. I came to the conclusion that my time was not worth it. I enjoyed the writing part but formatting, covers, and all of the other little extras just took too long! Instead, for five to ten dollars, I was able to find someone to format my books for both Amazon and Smashwords.

Though this could be considered delegation, I didn’t really think about it that way. I just had better things to do with my time than spend hours trying to format my book correctly. I also hired someone to make a cover for me because for five dollars, I could have a cover that looked professionally made! It was a lot nicer than mine. I also hired a proofreader to make sure that my books were as error free as possible.

In the beginning of the year, I got an opportunity that I couldn’t pass up. I could combine my love of animals and veterinary medicine with my love of writing. Writing for DVM Multimedia was a dream come true, plus I would be making more money!

At first, I was able to keep up with all of the work but then, I became overwhelmed. Anytime that you needed me, my head was behind my computer writing away. Getting paid a base salary started to look pretty bleak (and totally not what I was worth)!

Around that same time, I started to complain to my boss about needing help. I even thought about quitting. The money, though wonderful, was not worth working every spare second of every day! I was told to get the help I needed so I did.

Ever since I found the right person to help, my job there has been much less stressful. I am able to keep up with the supply, while having more time to focus on my other writing and my family.

My boss is happy because he is getting the content that he deserves. Laura is happy because she has a steady paycheck and as much writing as she wants and I am happy because it is much less stressful. I am able to spend more time on my ebooks. I also don’t have to feel stuck to my computer. I can take a day or two off here and there without worrying.

Delegation has really made my life much better!

If you enjoyed this excerpt and want to read more, check it out here!

book review
Like

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.