Journal logo

Rest: The Ultimate Mood Booster

Ever feel like the world is spinning too fast around you? I was one of those people who thought rest is for the weak

By Edison AdePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
4

Ever feel like the world is spinning too fast around you? I was one of those people who thought rest is for the weak. I would push myself to my limit, but all it lead me down a slippery slope where more work meant less productivity and just an unending race with no reward at all. I used to be like most people, working long hours and sacrificing my health and well-being for profit.

It seemed like such a vicious cycle: you put in your 100% effort only for things not to improve.

I was always the type of person who thought hard work would be enough to make things happen. I worked really hard, but it wasn't giving me what I wanted: Don’t get me wrong though; sometimes my efforts are rewarded with success! But then there's this long list of other problems that need attention before next month's deadline--and you know how stressful these deadlines can become...

The longer you continue working at something without feeling satisfied by your progress then eventually this becomes how we view everything: as being full of obstacles, not opportunities; tasks rather than adventures  & solutions.

We are all busy. We are always on the go. But what if I told you that taking a break and resting will actually give you more energy to finish that big project and get it done? I learned this the hard way.

One evening I was so worried about the workload, and not sure if my skills could get them all done but then sleep finally won in this battle. I went for 10 straight hours without even realising it until I was up - feeling refreshed with new energy! More composure than before too; like carrying Mount Everest on your shoulders is no problem at all...

I think that tells us something pretty interesting: sometimes we need rest to help upped our efforts which might seem crazy because everyone always says "stay awake!"

Many have experienced this. It's easy to fall into this cycle and think that you need to work harder, when in fact you should rest more

I decided that enough was enough. The endless cycle of stress and work had taken its toll on me- it wasn’t just a matter of wanting to have more fun; this needed to become a priority in order for my mental health as well!

Nowadays, I’ve come to appreciate the importance of rest. When I take some time off to relax, it actually helps me to be more productive when I get back to work. This is because rest gives my brain a chance to recharge, which makes me more focused and motivated. It was one of those moments where you realize that life isn't about money, but about what truly matters to you.

I have made a commitment to prioritize rest. I realized I am more productive when I take time off and come back with a fresh mind to get the job done.

I am going to have a life. A full, enjoyable one with plenty of rest and relaxation in it for me too! So from now on when things seem stressful or overwhelming-It’s time to stop working so hard...it's only natural that we need some downtime once in a while right?

Here is to a restful 2022. I encourage you to join me in having an awesome year ahead by prioritizing rest. Here is how you can win with rest.

  • Plan your rest into your work schedule. For example, if you work from nine to five each day, take a nap from four to five. If your schedule allows, have a 90-minute nap.
  • Don’t give excuses not to take time off to rest
  • Avoid every distraction and temptation not to
  • Invest in a good mattress and pillow. I cannot stress this enough. A great night's sleep is so important for our health and well-being.
  • Create a bedtime routine that includes winding down for 30 minutes before sleep. This could include reading, meditating, or taking a bath. Incorporate restful activities into your daily life so they become habits. For example, read fiction before bed every night or meditate for 20 minutes after work.
  • Make time each week to reflect on how well you're incorporating rest into your life.

There's no doubt that taking the time to rest is crucial for our well-being. If you're feeling particularly stressed, take a break from work and watch an episode of “Peaky Blinders or Emily in Paris”. Don’t get trapped in it though and you end up going for hours.

To be successful in life and work, you need to take time off. It's the only way for your mind (and body)to rejuvenate themselves so that when they're back at it again-they'll have all of their energy!

So what if you're not at work just yet--why don't we make this weekend an early vacation ☺️🤩

advice
4

About the Creator

Edison Ade

I Write about Startup Growth. Helping visionary founders scale with proven systems & strategies. Author of books on hypergrowth, AI + the future.

I do a lot of Spoken Word/Poetry, Love Reviewing Movies.

My website Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.