Journal logo

reflection over the past year.

2021

By Rachel ParisPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
reflection over the past year.
Photo by Fauzan Ardhi on Unsplash

Today I would like to talk about loneliness, I have been living on my own for a few years now and I am not a big fan of this.

It has become harder when the UK has gone into the second lockdown however I am lucky enough to have a full-time job. Work is currently my social network and I have a great team. I do talk to my friends and family over the phone and via video chat. Friends and I have started doing virtual quizzes which is fun

Before lockdown, I would go and see my friends at the café and at the pub and see my family and just generally spent time with them. I honestly miss that face to face social interaction with people.

When I have my days off and when I am in the house I would normally do some coursework, listen to music or draw. When I do feel like climbing up these walls I would get ready to go out and blast some music out and go to my local park. At the moment it is really pretty as it is autumn and they are bright orange red's and with a mixture of brown and that is my happy place.

2020 a strange year

During this year it has been a strange one. Our world has been at a standstill with this pandemic. There is a different way of our social interaction is happening via the internet, children being taught at home. University is being taught on zoom. People may have suffered from their mental health from less social interaction, losing their jobs, or being furloughed. It is important to try and keep positive in these hard times. We will get through this year and start with a fresh one. 2021 we are coming for you and bring us our bright year.

Days are getting darker.

With the change in the season and the nights are drawing in closer. This colour of the orange and red leaves on the ground getting ready to freeze for the winter months. It is time to put the heating on and wrap ourselves in our favourite blankets on the sofa. It has gone past Halloween and bonfire night has passed. It is coming up towards Christmas however it will not the same this year. As Christmas markets are not on and crowds are waiting to put the Christmas lights on in the city. You have to choose which family member to spend Christmas day with us you can only mix with 3 households.

I can honestly say I am looking forward to this year's end and start fresh. I am looking forward not to wear the masks and exactly not social distance with friends however I believe that we may need to wear the mask a bit more during next year. Bring on to the summer festivals where they are different bands and have gatherings from all walks of life. It is amazing how music brings us all together in many ways it helps us when we are sad and we listen to it when we are happy.

We are now in November 2021 and I would say it has been a better way for most of us. I am now less lonely as I have just moved in with my mum. It makes a difference when you have company and I feel more safe within myself however I do have my days when I have feelings of doubt and insecurity. I just start writing stuff on and it helps and I do look back at it.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.