Journal logo

Quotes About Writing

By Writers - For Writers

By Linda RivenbarkPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
12
Quotes About Writing
Photo by Kat Stokes on Unsplash

I could stay up all night reading quotes from Goodreads (or other sources) by writers about writing...why they write, how they write, the 'agony and the ecstasy' of being compelled to put experiences, people, events, anything and everything, into print for all the world to read. Oh, wait, I just did!

The sun is about to rise and a new day will begin. I need a good, hot mug of coffee to help me stay awake and do my daily chores.

While I am cooking breakfast, washing dishes, sweeping, processing endless laundry, and doing other "lather, rinse, repeat" chores, I will be thinking of some of the words of wisdom written by some best-selling authors. I will be wondering how I can apply their wisdom to crafting a story about Scarlet Macaws and/or revising or composing fiction stories for a challenge in progress.

When my research is done and I have read and re-read all the selected sources, I will pull up a blank document in Vocal and get started. A title and subtitle come first. I try to be imaginative, but I usually end up with a basic description or identification of what the story is about. Then there is a picture to be chosen from an online source or something from my own photo collection.

So far, so good.

We all have our favorite writers. Some of my favorite writers are on Vocal and they give me an endless supply of enticing stories to read. But for this discourse, I would like to share some of the quotes from published authors of current times or by-gone days whose words struck a cord in my heart and mind as I searched for nuggets of wisdom.

By Sarah Lachise on Unsplash

Let's listen to "America's Storyteller", Louis L'Amour (1908-1988): "“Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.”

On the late author's official website, I found another delightful quote of his:

"One day I was speeding along at the typewriter, and my daughter - who was a child at the time - asked me, "Daddy, why are you writing so fast?" And I replied, "Because I want to see how the story turns out!"

When I was in elementary school, my brothers used to buy some Westerns by Louis L'Amour from the Book Club brochures they passed out to all classes. I read some of them, too. His website has links to his creations divided into categories. I will put them on my list of things to do when I get caught up with the writing I am so woefully behind on. So, maybe, around New Years 2022.

A more recent favorite author of mine, Maya Angelou, said, “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” I refer the reader back to the first quote above of Louis L'Amour: "Start writing...."

By Saray Khadangan on Unsplash

I love her poems, "Still I Rise" and "When Great Trees Fall", and her book, "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings". Her writing is so honest and raw and she puts it all out there for the world to see. The world is richer for it.

Writer Toni Morrison is another of my favorites. I had never heard of her before I visited the huge downtown Charlotte Main Public Library in November 2014. Outside the library, along the front side of the building, there are marble columns with quotes from some authors whose books fill spaces on the library shelves, including Toni Morrison.

Her quote in Goodreads was: “If there's a book that you want to read, but it hasn't been written yet, then you must write it.” On the marble column, it was worded a little differently.

Picture taken by Linda Rivenbark in November 2014 at Charlotte Main Public Library

Thinking of the writing maxim of "Show, Don't Tell", I love the quote by Anton Chekhov: “Don't tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.” Can't you just see it?

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

Steven King said: “The scariest moment is always just before you start.”

Concerning beginnings, Beatrix Potter (Author of "The Tale of Peter Rabbit") wrote: “There is something delicious about writing the first words of a story. You never quite know where they'll take you.”

By Junior REIS on Unsplash

In the book, "The Velveteen Rabbit", author Margery Williams Bianco described a scene where the toy Horse was telling the toy Rabbit about how to become real. The toy horse explains that it takes a long time to become real...that only after a child has loved you for a long, long time, you can become real. But "It takes a long time. That's why it doesn't happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don't matter at all, because once you are Real you can't be ugly, except to people who don't understand.”

She goes on to reveal that, "once you are real you can't become unreal again. It lasts for always".

Aren't you glad Margery Williams Bianco wrote that book?

Sylvia Plath, in "The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath" wrote: “Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences.”

Poet William Wordsworth wrote: "Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart".

Author Phillip Pullman wrote: “After nourishment, shelter, and companionship, stories are the thing we need most in the world.”

That seems to be especially true in the past year and a half (actually for the past 5 or 6 years).

The 16th century Catholic priest, Martin Luther, advised in his writing: “If you want to change the world, pick up your pen and write.”

*****

Before I close this story, might I mention a story I just read that touched a place in my heart, written by one of Vocal's finest, Tom Bradbury. As much as I love his sheep and shepherd stories, I think my favorite of all of Tom's stories is "The Short Lived Adventures of Scallydog's Emporium ".

His labor of love in caring for his Dad and helping him find some joy and pleasure in his final years after Tom's mother passed away cannot be surpassed.

*****

We all have something that needs putting down in words on paper (or on the computer screen) and saving for posterity.

If you have enjoyed reading my story about writing stories and the beautiful words of many famous writers, you can "heart", share, or send a tip (or not), just let me know you enjoyed this story and I will repeat it with other quotes from writers who just have to write.

Thank you for reading!

quotes
12

About the Creator

Linda Rivenbark

I believe in the magic of words, love, and tenacity. There is a world out there that needs to be explored, researched, and written out to try to make some sense of it, and to make a better place for the children of tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.